Software Dial-Up Modem: SM2173ALD07 - 64-Bit Vista Driver needed

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by bradavon78, Feb 10, 2009.

  1. bradavon78

    bradavon78
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    3,202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South West, England
    Ratings:
    +133
    I'm looking for 64-Bit Drivers for Vista for the:

    SM2173ALD07 - Software Dial-up modem

    I have a Toshiba Satellite A100-049 laptop and can only find 32-Bit Drivers. I've managed to find 64-Bit drivers for pretty much everything else (no thanks to Toshiba). Thanks.

    p.s - I've not yet installed Vista 64-Bit so don't know if the 32-Bit Drivers (in that they could be more software than drivers) will work but imagine they won't.
     
  2. namuk

    namuk
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    22,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,332
    try using the xp64 bit driver (force install) , i used a xp32 bit driver on vista 32bit for a 10 year old scanner and worked flawlessly:)
     
  3. bradavon78

    bradavon78
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    3,202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South West, England
    Ratings:
    +133
    Thanks.

    How do I force install? Do you mean manually by Have Disk/Upgrade Driver etc...?

    Oddly I cannot find XP drivers period :confused:. It seems Toshiba use a different model when using XP. Toshiba have been useless at getting 64-Bit drivers, despite my laptop supporting 4Gb.
     
  4. namuk

    namuk
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    22,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,332

    Just install as normal, then you get a popup saying this is wrong driver etc just yes away:D

    got a link for this also.. i did a seach also , was that you who posted on the tosheba site:D
     
  5. bradavon78

    bradavon78
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    3,202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South West, England
    Ratings:
    +133
    Understood. I've done that a few times.

    Might be ;).

    Thanks btw.
     
  6. namuk

    namuk
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    22,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,332
    :thumbsup:

    :D

    i had a look for them drivers what a pain , like you say 64bit driver anything:thumbsdow
     
  7. bradavon78

    bradavon78
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    3,202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South West, England
    Ratings:
    +133
    I'm hoping Windows Update will have them or I can use the 32-Bit Vista ones, the drivers could be software. If not, it's only a dial-up modem so I'll just buy an external one.

    I so rarely use it but do use it, so need it. Thanks again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...