1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SOCOM II Registration for Online

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by MaKSiNG, Jul 14, 2005.

  1. MaKSiNG

    MaKSiNG
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2002
    Messages:
    387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi Guys,

    I have just got SOCOM II and it is excellent but I just tried to get online with it and I am having difficulties.

    I am using a PS2 Slimline together with a Wireless Router. I am able to get online to play Need for Speed, so the connection is there.

    I connect to the server and get through the DNAS, but when I connect to a universe I am asked to register a new handle. I enter all the details (these are made up including the password) in the hope that they will be registered in the next step. Then I just see 'Logoff' and I am returned to the screen where I have to enter all of the details again.

    Do I need to register this handle and password somewhere else first? Is it expecting a particular password not one that I make up in that screen to be registered?

    I am confused! :rolleyes:

    Thanks in Advance,
    MaKS
     
  2. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    34,981
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +8,121
    Socom 2 is an official PS2 online game so you use your Central Station handle in the game. Some games for the PS2 work a bit like X-Box live in that you have a standardised game handle - others like GR2 use a separate set up. Have you set up via Central Station?
     
  3. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +731
    Welcome to the simple and easy to use Netplay from Sony!!!!!!!!!!

    :lesson: to sony, if you only do something half-arsed, don't bother next time
     
  4. Stinja

    Stinja
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    11,815
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,522
    As stated;

    Use the Network Adapter disk and logon to Sony's Central Station.
    Make an account.
    Log off.
    Logon onto SOCOM 2.
    Use your Central Station details.
    Get fragged by numerous laggy rank-whoring wings ;)

    I've hardly ever bothered going back onto Central Station, so dont worry about how poor it is. But yes i hope Sony do pull out a more comprehensive online model for the PS3.

    The game is good, but i hope you dont find it too tough, as it can be a bit rough on beginners; learning the maps, coordinating with teammates, and avoiding really good players is useful for starting. The game isnt quite what it was just before christmas, as its either laggier or people are self-inducing lag for an advantage (though this isnt super widespread i believe), plus a bit of bickering about "broken" weapons. There are some good fun clans out there that are "safe", so jump onto one of their rooms when you see them. I play with [HH], [TI$], [PIG], [IRE], [OAP] and my own [WAC], as "Stinja" - however ive not been playing much lately. Look any of us up.

    Good luck! :devil: SOCOM 3 end of the year hopefully.
     
  5. Mickus

    Mickus
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    3,072
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +333
    Feel free to join our CDR Anygunfun rooms....We allow all weapons, so there's no bitching about using IW80's, GL's M60 etc.... :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...