1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

So what is the best (for a grand)

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by dUnKle, Sep 28, 2004.

  1. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,325
    Confused on what amp to go for in the £1000 range

    Was thinking it was going to be the Denon 3805 but now im not sure as everyone seems to rate the Yamaha 2400 more

    So what is the best for a grand ?
     
  2. BrianC

    BrianC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +101
  3. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Im very happy with my 3805. You can get them now for a lot less than a grand :thumbsup:
     
  4. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,325
    I currently am using a 4 year Denon A1D whcih I purchased as new

    Its a great Amp and still worth every bit of the 2000 I paid for it, but I just feel its too big - especially since I am soon to be buying my own home

    I am after great sound for movies (NEVER LISTEN TO MUSIC) and want the latest features such as 7.1 and Pro Logic II

    I have heard the Denon does some clever things with video signals (I will be using a DVD player and plasma TV)

    at moment I am leaning twds the 2400 but the 1400 seems a real BARGAIN

    Is it ?
     
  5. Ed Selley

    Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10,793
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,146
    Considering that the 1400/2400 have broadly identical processors and differ only in power, yes it is a bargain.
     
  6. BrianC

    BrianC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +101
    The 1400 (like the 2400) will upconvert composite and s-video into YUV component - its only real flaw for me is that it only has 2 component inputs, the denon has an extra input. The Denon also has 100 Mhz component inputs/outputs, while the yammy has 60 Mhz - this is/might only an issue if you want to run true HDTV (not standard 480p) through the AMP.

    The denon also has denon link (obviously only useful if you have a denon dvd) and a loss of 10 watts RMS per channel.

    All the other features (pro logic IIx, 7.1, etc.) are the same - obviously the sound produced is going to be different - and I suggest you listen to both to make up your own mind, if you can find somewhere that has the 1400.
     
  7. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,325
    Argh

    Even more confused

    But thanks
     
  8. Radiohead

    Radiohead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    4,295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Amazingstoke
    Ratings:
    +433
    Another vote for the 1400 here - it's a stunning amp for £800 and a real bargain at £550. The new 1500 doesn't seem to offer much more, making the 1400 an even more compelling buy.
     
  9. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,325
    Blimey

    That 1400 Really does seem a super little product - as said I just want a STUNNING amp for Home Cinema use only

    able to do ALL the features and sound formats etc

    Just need to sell my A1D
     
  10. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +990
    Consider the Pioneer Ax5Ai or the Arcam AVR 300. Both great amps IMO.
     
  11. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,325
    Thanks guys YAMAHA RXV1400RDS is now top of my to demo list

    just need to sell my A1D first
     
  12. Sniper

    Sniper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +80
    HMN... if you're going to be using 4ohm speakers, you might want to consider the NAD 773. Haven't really read a review (since unit is relatively new) but it's the only amp which specifivally stated on the manual that it will driver 4ohm speakers all round. All the others don't really mention it. Pioneer (AX3/AX5) specifically say (have a look at the manuals) thay even though it can run speakers below 6ohm, it's reccomended to stick to 8! I wonder!!
     
  13. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,325
    Will be running with B&W speakers

    603s2 at front, cc6s2 in centre and 601s2 at rear

    also using two subs - a rel quake and rel q100e
     
  14. Sniper

    Sniper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +80
    nopes... all 8 ohmers (is that a word!?) - so no need to look hard for an amp to drive them hard!

    still - i would wait for a review to be available!

    actually it's missing the (nice) "auto-setup with a mic" thingy which so many ppl like todays! - but that wouldn't scare me away from it!
     
  15. BrianC

    BrianC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +101
    I'm assuming you are talking about the 1400, if not then please ignore me and accept my appologies.

    its about to be replaced by the 1500, so it ain't gonna be reviewed again, there is a review available from the review site linked above

    The 1400 supports auto setup, and includes a mic to do this, I used this for the initial setup of my 1400. The auto setup was a little out on the center speaker when I checked with DVE and a SPL meter, and for some crazy reason it set my sub crossover to 200 Hz, but apart from that it was spot on.
     
  16. Sniper

    Sniper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +80
    Actually was talking about the NAD-T773.

    But nevermind I'll have to accept your apologies - just make sure it never ever happens again! OR ELSE! :devil:

    :laugh:
     
  17. Dfour

    Dfour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +85
    The Yammy 1400 is a superb amp for Home Cinema. The auto setup is very accurate except with the sub (sets mine at 110) and I find it sets everything up at 80db not 75 but I can live with that. The Yamaha will happily drive 8 or 6 ohm speakers and was happily driving some 4 ohm Kenwoods I borrowed while awaiting my Evo's to turn up :D

    With the money saved on the 1400 I would suggest getting a Rotel (or similar) Power amp and bi-amping the front speakers as it improves the sound and bass quite nicely:devil: Im sure the B&W's can be bi-wired.:)
     
  18. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,325
    Well I ordered the 1400 for £550

    Im sure ill be happy

    Thanks
     
  19. russraff

    russraff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Messages:
    2,311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +50
    I am sure you will. I have recently been listening to a Yamaha AZ1 and I realised what I liked about Yamaha from so ong ago. I used to have an A2, and never bought Yamaha again, for some reason. I moved on to Denon, NAD, Sony and harman/kardon. Eventuially I had a chance to borrow an AZ1 for a while and the processing abilities are awesome - very fast sound pans.

    As AV amps go, Yamaha are hard to beat. Let us know how you get on.

    Russell
     
  20. Dfour

    Dfour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +85
    :blush:

    I just had a look to see if you could get a new power amp with your saved money and I think the answer is almost completely NO You will have to look second hand :eek:

    Im sure you will love the Yammaha 1400 as I do. If you have any questions/problems with it feel fre to ask :thumbsup:
     
  21. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,325
    Thanks

    I think the novelty of having other sound formats rather than standard 5.1/DTS will keep me entertained and to be honest with you I think my current Amp is much too powerful and big for the room I have it in

    Hope 1400 will be more suited

    Anything I should be aware of for when it arrives ?

    Getting it working with new sound formats etc and best movies to demo with
     
  22. Dfour

    Dfour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +85
    Just be aware that you will not get the best from the amp until after a period of a week or so use. Also check what the sub crossover setting the auto setup sets it at as its usually high. If you dont have one beg or borrow a SPL meter.
    :lesson:
     
  23. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,325
    I have an SPL but all this about sub crossovers etc confuses me and I have never really understood it

    I have a Rel Quake and Rel 100 sub
     
  24. Radiohead

    Radiohead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    4,295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Amazingstoke
    Ratings:
    +433
    I played with all the formats on my 1400 - then set it to THX Cinema and it's stayed there ever since.

    You don't mention what your main speakers are, so it's hard to say what your sub crossover will be, but you want to be very careful if you're thinking about running both REL's at the same time.
     
  25. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,325
    sorry mate

    Will be running with B&W speakers

    603s2 at front, cc6s2 in centre and 601s2 at rear

    also using two subs - a rel quake and rel q100e
     
  26. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,325
    Just one quick question if I may

    What do i need for the extra rear speaker duties ?

    I have a pair of bipole Moraundt Short speakers lay around - would they be ok ?

    Should I use one or two speakers to get the best ?
     
  27. BrianC

    BrianC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +101
    Ideally you should use dipole or bipole speakers as the surround, and bookshelf or floorstanders as the rear surround as the rear surround are meant to be more directional.

    Obviously this means that you would be primarly using the mordant short for rear speaker duties with 5.1 material, but if you turn on pro logic IIx you'll also be using the rear surrounds as well.
     
  28. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,325
    Im sure this will all become more clear when it arrives and I can put into practice

    The only problem I have is limited room space etc which means that the MS speakers would have to go on the wall at rear of room - no room at sides for wall speakers and no room at back wall for floor standers if that makes sense

    Im assuming teh amp will detect these new fancy sound modes and play them automatically for me
     
  29. Dfour

    Dfour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +85
    I would suggest as you have limited wall space for rear speakers to use the MS bipoles over the 601s2 for the rear speakers and stick to 5.1. The bipoles will give you a much bigger rear sound stage than the direct firing 602's.

    The amp will let you use the ones you can with your setup ie. no sixth speaker means no DPL2x or DTS:ES or DD EX.
     
  30. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,325
    Thanks

    Its difficult to explain layout of room to describe but i will try

    Seating in middle of room

    Rear speakers currently on stands and in rear corner but can be moved forward somewaht so they stand about two foot from rear wall

    The MS speakers would then be able to be screwed high up on the rear wall

    Due to airing cupboard in room there is no room to put the MS speakers on the side walls until they would be in middle of room
     

Share This Page

Loading...