So, Sweden...

sergiup

Distinguished Member
Reaction score
Does anyone know much about living in Sweden (ideally personally, not a mate's mate or something like that), moving there from the UK, etc? I'm doing my research anyway, but I figured I might as well ask. It's not an imminent move, just something I (we..) may be considering; I work in IT and t'missus works in the tech side of financial services, so theoretically our skills are easily transferable. Our littl'un is still under two years old, so there'd be no real drama there about losing friends etc. Learning Swedish will be one of the bigger challenges..

So far I've somewhat gotten to grips with the concept of the personnummer, possibly having to do most things in person, filling in forms etc, doesn't seem like much of a problem for me. The lack of next-day Amazon deliveries of cheap tat might be more of a problem frankly.

Tack! :)

Awesome place to live from the little I've seen. Hopefully we'll have right to work post-Brexit fiasco but I'm sure you'd get a work permit with your skillset.

I have been looking at Norway myself. Now Sweden might be different but you are treated like a second class citizen until you are given Norwegian citizen. Over in Norway it's likely I'll be paid less than a Norwegians, will not have the same rights to healthcare etc as a Norwegian and will likely pay more tax.
As for your skills, do you have a degree? If not then you may struggle. I'm currently doing an engineering degree and in Norway the minimum is a master's degree.