1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

So ive got a Panny ae500 vid projector,Denon 2805 amp,EVO 3b speakers,need DVD player

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by pez, Sep 7, 2004.

1. pez

pez

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
    Sorry for the length of the thread title!

im new to these parts of avforums, as ive normally run DVD video from PCs into my projector to get 1280x720 res and per pixel mapping (and stunning quality from it too!).

but ive now built a setup that at present is miles away from the nearest pc in the house, so im after a DVD player.

Video projector is a Panasonic PT-AE500E with VGA, DVI-D, Composite, and RGB Scart on it, my Receiver/Amp is a Denon 2805 with both Optical and CoAxial digital inputs on it, as well as multichannel analog in (8 chanel in) with runs to my new Acoustic Energy EVO 3b 5.1 speaker set (soon to add another 2 rears to that).

so im looking for a DVD player that obviously can output the digital signals for me to the amp (but im impressed by the sound my ps2 is outputting, as the sound processing is being handled by the Denon amp its not a big issue with DVD players is it?), and either Progressive Scan via Component video or DVI to the Panasonic AE500 projector.

What Hi Fi recommends the Pioneer DV-575A for midrange setups, is it any good? does it do prog scan, or can it output via DVI (is DVI that much better than Component? ive not seen either, as i usually run RGB scart or VGA).

any competitors that are worth a look?

pez

2. Barend

Barend

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    Denon 2910 or 3910 are the way to go.
    Wait till Xmas and the 2910 will be offered for a better price I'm sure.
    Barend

3. pez

pez

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
    cant see either of those on the Denon UK web site.

pez

4. Benrudd1

Benrudd1