So, How Do We Calibrate Our TVs for HDR?

VHS Gamer

I'm relatively familiar with SDR basic calibration, but how is HDR different from SDR calibration? It would be super helpful if this could be cleared up as I've not been using HDR at all under the assumption that there is no standard for it like SDR. Meaning, the moment we switch it on, we're not seeing what the director intended. So my questions are...

• How is black level and white level set with HDR?
  • And Colour?
  • Is the Dynamic Range the same of 16-235 or 0-255? Or something else?

Basically, how is calibration of HDR different from SDR?

mmj

I'm by no means an expert but as someone who has researched and dabbled in it I'll give this a go, anyone please correct me if I'm wrong.

Firstly, you will need a pattern generator that outputs HDR, you can achieve this using a modern graphics card and Windows 10, or alternatively (and probably better) look on the AVSForum/Calibration section at the Raspberry Pi pattern generator thread. To get a Pi to output HDR you need an additional HDMI Fury device (Linker is the cheapest). You will also need a sensor that is rated for 2000nits (assuming you have high end QLED).

HDR doesn't have blacker than black or whiter than white. I believe HDR uses a range like 64-940 or something like that which is why you need a HDR pattern generator. I think what the Pi/Fury does is the Pi outputs normal ranges but the Fury translates it to HDR equivalent and injects it into the output signal.