Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

so happy ive waisted £2700 on a viere!!!!

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by mooncat, May 13, 2005.

  1. mooncat

    mooncat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    great aint it. brought my 42 inch viere 7 months ago with stand for 2700 quid.

    i was told its all ill need for the next 5 years!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    well what a load of tosh. it wont even be able to handle the new xbox thats coming out talk about hi def.

    great. looks like the kids will have a nice tv for the bedroom :D
     
  2. davegtt

    davegtt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    off course it'll handle the new XBOX :rolleyes: where'd you hear that? as if Microsoft would make a box that wont be compatible with 98% of televisions that are in the current household
     
  3. dilsher

    dilsher
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    if the suypplier told you it was HD ready and HDCP compatible and it aint...go back and get a new HD panel wiv your viera panel as a trade in at least!
     
  4. alliwant

    alliwant
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    its just the way with technology...enjoy it...at least u have a plasma!!!
     
  5. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,866
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +279
    Where did you buy it from?
     
  6. mooncat

    mooncat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    brought it from currys. the best price around at the time.

    i mean it wont be able to display the new xbox best resalutions.

    and i know thats the way technology goes but it would have been nice not to be lied to. oh and what would be the point of going back i can prove a conversation
     
  7. Mr Eddy

    Mr Eddy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Xbox 360 will work fine. It will have scart RGB out as well as component prog. It is looking like it won't have HDMI out so not missing out there.

    Yes you are limited to your resolution but the new PV500 only sports a 720 not 1080 so you could claim that is not great. The high res will look great on yours too even at the lower res.

    Chill and invest the money on a load of games, far better than the higher res.
     
  8. me_here

    me_here
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    173
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +45
    The current XBOX does Hi-def too - do you go to bed crying that you can't use that too?
     
  9. alliwant

    alliwant
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    bit harsh :(
     
  10. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,737
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +534
    Isn't the Viera 42" 854x480 anyway?

    This isn't even standard PAL "SD" resolution, nevermind "HD".

    I do admit "HD" film footage does look good on "SD" plasmas, but this seems more to do with the way "HD" is transfered in the first place.

    Running at a resolution higher than the panel normally results in a softer image.
    So even people with "SD" panels that can accept "HD" (even via HDMI), won't be getting the full benefit anyway.

    So don't feel to bad, there are a lot of us in the same boat.

    With the upcoming SKY HD, and my increasing use of my Media PC. I plan on upgrading my 5th series 42" "SD" Panny, for a 50" "HD" 8th series Panny "Panel" when they are released. ;)
     
  11. dilsher

    dilsher
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    "its just the way with technology...enjoy it...at least u have a plasma!!!"

    Ali man! Dont go telling dat to all those fooked off Tiny owners mate!!!
     
  12. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    What ya waiting for Paul they are out and about already (only not wearing a Panasonic dress)
     
  13. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,737
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +534
    hd, do you mean a Fuji?
     
  14. dilsher

    dilsher
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Paul

    He does. Go get it Tiger!!!
     
  15. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
  16. ukdan

    ukdan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    swindon
    Ratings:
    +85
    In 42"?
     
  17. Llanowar

    Llanowar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +0
    It does do 1080i, the new xbox...i'm waiting till i get a high def screen for sure...seen the promo movies from games at the mtv site, damn it looks hot!
     
  18. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    fraid not, 50" but i thik thats what he was looking for....those of you wanting a 42" will have to wait for the PV500 and PHD8.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice