• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Small DIY Subwoofer

A

AdamJP

To protect myself from any newbie bashing posts i'm gonna start by saying I have very little experience with sound systems.

I have a set of Creative P580 surround sound speakers which I picked up cheap and I'm looking at using a few of the parts for a DIY speaker setup for my GCSE DT project.

What I want to do is transfer the speakers, sub and panel amp into new boxes, which I will make. The speakers will be relatively straight forward but the sub could be tricky. I was thinking of upgrading the sub from the 5?" one already there to a 6" - 8" one, would there be any necessary upgrades to the amp or will the one in there cope?

What size box and port would I need for this sub?

Please go easy on me!

EDIT: Oh and cost is an issue!

Adam

Mylo

Distinguished Member
Unfortunately I don't think that driver would not be much use mate. The frequency response is probably that of a mid range speaker rather than a woofer.

HiFiRuss71

Distinguished Member
My expertise is limited, but go for a box about 30x30x30cm and tune the port to about 40-50Hz. The driver is a mid/bass unit so there is no point trying to drag low frequencies out of it that it was never designed to handle. With a peak power handling of 75w there is a choice of volume or depth and 75w won't give you any sort of audible depth, so don't try for it. It's also 6 ohm and I'm guessing the light weight paper unit in the creative sub is lighter and easier to drive than the unit you're looking at.

The creative sub is probably designed for maximum boom at the port frequency to sound big and impressive with games, so try to tighten the sound rather than increase or extend it.