1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

slow computer.... any ideas ?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by F1F3R, Sep 24, 2004.

  1. F1F3R

    F1F3R
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    fife scotland
    Ratings:
    +0
    hello,

    i recently built a new computer ...

    p4 prescott 3E Ghz, 800 mhz,1mb/L2 cache.
    msi motherboard. 865PE Neo2-P
    1 meg pc3200 ddr400 ram
    win xp.

    same old h/d 18gig
    and old graphics creative labs gf3 Ti500.

    but computer seems to be very slow too bootup, and very slow to initally start programs.
    eg control panel ..after clicking into control panel the icons take a few seconds to appear.. sooo slow.

    ive looked for obvious things on computer but cant find nothing.

    ive set all bootups in bios etc to fast bootup etc , changed startup seconds from 30 secs to 5 secs , still no joy.
    ive also set computer for best performance.
    its so annoying.

    ps
    in control manager/device manager/ then COMPUTER its setting is
    ACPI multiprocessor pc ?? is this correct ??

    and still in device manager /under processors its like it has 2 processors? Intel (r) Pentium (r) 4 CPU 3.00
    then same below
    Intel (r) Pentium (r) 4 CPU 3.00

    is this normal ??

    in windows task manager there is still loads off memory left and cpu usage is very low 0 - 2 percent..
    no other applications are running ,
    no viruses, or spys etc
    all drivers upto date.


    1, So any idea why it takes sooooo long to bootup ???
    2, and why it takes soooo long to open programs. ???
    3, is device manger settings correct eg showing multiprocessor and why is it showing 2 cpus in processors section. ???

    any help would be much appreciated.
     
  2. F1F3R

    F1F3R
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    fife scotland
    Ratings:
    +0
    i think ive found a solution to the slow boot up.

    in bios i found APIC ACPI SCI IRQ. it was disabled so i tried enabling to see if it made any difference , its boots up alot faster now. :clap:
     
  3. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,465
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +186
    What is the HD - get yourself an 8mb cache 7200rpm HD and it will be sooo much faster at booting as well as program access.
     
  4. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,852
    Got to agree that your 18GB hard disk could well be slowing down your computer, it's amazing how much difference a fast modern hard disk makes.
     
  5. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,960
    make sure any CPU cache is enabled as well.
     
  6. Embarker

    Embarker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,623
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Garden of England
    Ratings:
    +63
    if you go to pcpitstop there is a full system check that will report and recommend areas to tweek and upgrade.

    I too second it could be the hard drive, my daughters has a 4gb and that has a naff transfer rate of 1 mb/sec. It boots fairly quick but you have to wait a few seconds for programs to open, however a decent defrag helped bundles.

    Rgds

    Dave
     
  7. F1F3R

    F1F3R
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    fife scotland
    Ratings:
    +0
    thnx for the info . :thumbsup:
    i will try that pc pitstop check , and probably get a new faster h/d, this mobo supports SATA hard drives so i will get 1 off them .

    thnx again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...