Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Slow Athlon? WinXP?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Supersonic, Aug 8, 2005.

  1. Supersonic

    Supersonic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,042
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +143
    Am installing WinXP on a machine w/ an Athlon 64 3200 (S939) and it's soooo sloooowww it's unbelievable! Were my upgrade expectations too high?!
     
  2. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    22,095
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +9,850
    Depends on what you class as slow?
     
  3. rdhir

    rdhir
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +8
    should be less than 30mins, maybe less than 20mins.

    I'd check your drive cables. Also I'd check your drive jumpering. I had a big problem with some drives lately where they were not set to master by default but cable select and it took me ages to work out why the hard drives were behaving like dogs.

    Cheers
     
  4. shezzy2k

    shezzy2k
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +26
    Your hard disk may be the bottleneck here. I cant say that I've noticed huge improvements in Windows install time despite regular upgrades in the last 18 months or so.

    What processor where you running before?
     
  5. Supersonic

    Supersonic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,042
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +143
    Turns out it was simply that the graphics card drivers (naturally) weren't on the machine prior to the install. Once they were loaded, the machine flew along. Odd though, since the standard windows drivers always seemed quick enough on other machines I've built. Maybe a PCIe thing.

    Thanks for replies anyway.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice