Skyworth 1050D setup problems - please help!

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by hopdylan, Mar 5, 2003.

  1. hopdylan

    hopdylan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just got my Skyworth 1050D today and am trying to get it to work with my Z1 projector - i can get normal component displayed but when i connect it to the progressive component outputs i can't get a picture - can anyone help????
     
  2. hopdylan

    hopdylan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    works now - thanks for the help:rolleyes:
     
  3. kelvin

    kelvin
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Down South... (Bournemouth)
    Ratings:
    +45
    You're either expecting too much (your post was only up for 3 hours!!! :eek:), or you can see something I can't ;)
     
  4. Lare

    Lare
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    the progressive output was set to VGA instead of component? :)
     
  5. hopdylan

    hopdylan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah, something like that :blush:


    Lare - what output do you find gives you the best quality picture on the Z1? and did you need to do any fine tuning on settings etc.?
     
  6. bxd

    bxd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +136
    Yup.... Always helps to read the manual.

    Brian
     
  7. Lare

    Lare
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    To tell you the truth, I only had few days to play with my Z1&1050D, because apparently my Skyworth was faulty and had to be sent back. I am now waiting for them to get the faulty unit and send a new one back.

    Anyhow, I was using the VGA output so I cannot speak for the component, but I didn't adjust the service/factory mode for anything else than lower the fan speeds a notch - quieter unit that way.
    For the video settings, I just used the Episode 2's "THX Optimizer" for brightness & gamma, and then some movie scenes for additional tweaking. So nothing special here :)
     
  8. hopdylan

    hopdylan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    What was wrong with your Skyworth player?
     
  9. Lare

    Lare
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Apparently the DVD unit was faulty. At first it would read discs ok, but few glitches (audio&video stops) per movie were usual. The problem got worse and in the end (about after 4-5 movies) it wouldn't read discs anymore, it'd say "no disc" when DVD was inside and also after several tries when it finally read the disc the playback was very jumpy, even the DVD's menus were choppy.

    However Hivizone has been a real sport with this issue, they agreed to send new unit back right away when they receive the faulty one, and they even agreed to reimburse my shipment costs with some DVD movies.
     

Share This Page

Loading...