1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky's plans for +

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by nabby, Mar 3, 2004.

  1. nabby

    nabby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,531
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +1,518
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Not overly impressed to be honest and as for five tuners????

    I seriously would have expected some version of SKY+ with two or more independent tuner/decoder combos which could access a single smartcard.
    At a stroke SKY could eliminate security issues and in turn charge a nominal fee for a subscriber to view two channels at the same time. That would squeeze cable and make DTT and TUTV look less useful as a second source for current subscribers.

    Mildy disappointed that the Amstrad SKY+ isn't any more advanced then it's PACE cousin.
     
  3. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,261
    Five!?!? There isn't enough decent programming on Sky to justify the two we have now!
     
  4. 69COU

    69COU
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    682
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +54
    When does the new Amstrad unit start shipping as perhaps it will be more reliable than the PACE unit???
     
  5. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    They are currently being supplied to SKY and should enter the market pretty quickly, however I do not know if the usual retail outlets will be getting any soon as I expect SKY will have dibs on the initial batch.

    Lets hope the Amstrad variant has better passive ventilation but at least it should not be affected by the picture issues with the PACE versions2 boxes.
     
  6. gilesm

    gilesm
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Strange report, there's been a number like this in the press over the last 6 months, the last one I saw in T3 was then retracted the following month by someone high up in Sky. Guess they're trying to scupper rumours to stop people waiting for new and better systems.

    On the subject of 4 or 5 tuners, does this mean I'll have to have a new dish with 4 or 5 cables coming from it? The cables are big enough as they are, without bunching more there.
     
  7. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    "For example, the week's top 10 films could all be downloaded to the set-top box, with viewers deciding whether and when they wanted to watch them, he said."

    I do not want my harddisc filling up with PPV movies that I will never watch!

    "The new technology would also be used to produce more compelling and effective interactive advertising, he added."

    I don't want more advertising, I use Sky+ to avoid watching ANY advertising on television.

    "The research also disproved the theory that people would stop watching live television, he said."

    Me, never watch live television anymore; StooMonster Junior may watch CBeebies or NickJr but that's it.

    All sounds rubbish to me.

    StooMonster
     
  8. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979



    Same here.
    The only programming I watch "live" now is sport and news, everything else gets recorded and I watch it when I choose not when the schedules say I've got to watch it.
    As for adverts, well why bother watching them:)

    The quote "satisfaction rates of close to 100%" is just laughable, I would love to know what question managed to give that result:confused:
     
  9. Billilu

    Billilu
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Only programming I watch live is sport. Even then, I often pause it for a few seconds to get rid of the red dot.

    Rather than fill up my box with 10 unwanted movies, why not bring out a box that can record more than 20 hours of stuff? I've had Sky + for two and a half years and I'm still waiting.
     
  10. GadgetObsessed

    GadgetObsessed
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,720
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +600
    "The new technology would also be used to produce more compelling and effective interactive advertising, he added."

    I remember Sky saying when they released Sky+ that it had the ability to disable fast forward during adverts to force you to watch them. They said at the time that they had no plans to use this functionality though. However, if Sky do manage to move everyone over to Sky+ I wonder how long it will be before they start using this functionality.

    At very least sounds like they will be downloading programming (top 10 films and ads) to your box whether you want it or not. Don't they remember the outcry when Tivo did this. (Recording a program that then appeared on the main menu screen and could not be deleted.) Tivo had a special area on the HD for recording such unrequested programs so they argued that it wasn't limiting the amount of recording the box could make. 10 films would take 40Gb though - are they going to be releasing a Sky+ with at least 120Gb to compensate?
     
  11. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979

    The abiliy to stop FF through adverts is part of the core design of the NDS XTV product that SKY+ is based on. That design was for the US market were marketing and advertising pressures are far higher and broadcasters/advertisers have far more power than they do here and yet that facility has never been used.
    I have no worries about that feature ever being activated by SKY, not only because it would be commercial and PR suicide but technically broadcasters can't even get EPG listings correct yet alone the far more complex flags required for adverts.

    I am still surprised that SKY have never had an offical upgrade path for SKY+, they could still sell a standard 40gig unit as a base model and then bulk purchase 80 or 120gig HD's which could be fitted in mass by more or less any installer with a bit of training and sold with a little profit margin. I can't believe it would be that difficult to upgrade the OS to support larger disks so the useage bar is correct and that would probably remove these 2,5 or 17min bugs some users have experienced.
     

Share This Page

Loading...