Sky's installer vs my own

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by JBrown, Oct 5, 2005.

  1. JBrown

    JBrown
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've had extensive work done to my house which meant that I got an engineer to re-wire my house for TV signal + sat signal in all the rooms. He's now ready to instal the Sky +, put the dish on the roof etc. The issue I have is that I cannot take advantage of the Sky + offer through him, but he is quite happy for me to source the kit from Sky and then finish the job. When I spoke to Sky they said that the kit will come from an approved installer and it was up to them to just hand over the kit without installing it. Is there any other way I can sort this out?
     
  2. STOWITBELOW

    STOWITBELOW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Messages:
    1,578
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +49
    The problem is if Sky don't install, it goes wrong, you come to them to 'repair' faults someone else caused. I'd just run the wire (wires) which is the bit that will require time, will be 'on display' etc, then ring for the offer & ask the engineer on arrival to fix the dish, & or LNB, box & make the conections. I'm guessing he'll be glad cos its less work (no cable runs). Make sure you're not expecting him to do anything out of the ordinary with the dish position, leave plenty of excess cable at the ends & ensure youre cables are ok, as if they don't work he'll just want to run a 'new' cable. Either that, go private, or DIY. Lastly you could get them to install, then have your chap re-install tidily. Don't forget it needs a phone line for any deals. A DIY job doesn't.
     
  3. JBrown

    JBrown
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    One thing to consider is that the dish will be installed on the roof, which I think they aren't normally willing to do. However I do have a roof light for easy access.
     
  4. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    I'm sure one of the Sky boys will correct me if I'm wrong, but as I understand it, to work on a roof requires specialist ladders, and there is also an insurance problem in working above certain heights. Don't forget that if you put the dish where Sky's installers can't get at it, they will expect your builder to do any remedial work, should it ever go wrong.
     
  5. DRGL

    DRGL
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    746
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shropshire,UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    All Sky engineers used to have roof ladders,don't know if this has changed?? i had to fit a couple up on a roor.........
     
  6. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    Do it the other way round, get your chap to run all his wires and leave labelled wiring for the Sky engineer to just turn up and connect to. Your chap will be reponsible for the dish and wiring rather than the Sky dude, but probably better that way anyway!! Ever tried to get Sky out on a fault finding visit where they didn't just accuse you of causing the issue in the first place.....

    I rewired my dish to box with 2.4ghz rated SDI digital cable - difference was absolutely amazing. Then high grade 75 ohm coax to RF points around the house for the distribution, but with the box located locally to my main system for direct RGB output.
     
  7. JBrown

    JBrown
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Can I not just get the Sky installer to supply to equipment and then leave? If not, then your idea Liam sounds about right apart from one problem...the dish will only arrive with the Sky guy so how will my chap to label everything. The only thing he can do is the wires.
     
  8. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    What happens if/when your fitter fits the box and it doesn't work ? Or if the LNB is faulty ? If Sky won't install the dish on the roof they won't replace it if it goes wrong either.
     

Share This Page

Loading...