Skys HD site down?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Dave5118, Mar 26, 2006.

  1. Dave5118

    Dave5118
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Nr Manchester
    Ratings:
    +3
    Been trying to register since Friday, but all i get is the front pge. When i click on one of the links to 'explore' IE just tells me there was an error on the page.
    Anybody else having problems? :confused:
     
  2. platty

    platty
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,028
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Leigh.Lancs
    Ratings:
    +325
    yup like that for me also since Friday....after i pre-ordered on it .....:clap:
     
  3. jsebright

    jsebright
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    60
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    Glad it's not just me then. Installed shockwave twice, ran through firefox and internet explorer reloading the page, but just kept getting a javascript error.

    Not currently a sky customer - is this the sort of problems I can look forward to?
     
  4. Pebb

    Pebb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    13,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Ratings:
    +829
    Its not shockwave player that runs it, it is Flash Player. And I hope they fix the problem before next weekend, when my pre-order will be done.
     
  5. steve36

    steve36
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    965
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +33
    I actually suspect it's a result of their attempt to remove the pre-registration fee page, but I might be wrong.
    My opinion is that Sky's intention was to only open up the deposit taking to pre-registered customers who they had sent emails with direct links to the page to. I tried to register using the web site on Friday and failed to find the link but my email worked.

    General ordering will open in April, I suspect they probably have enough boxes for the initial supply anyway.

    Steve
     
  6. Pebb

    Pebb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    13,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Ratings:
    +829
    They removed pre-registered page.
     
  7. Dave5118

    Dave5118
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Nr Manchester
    Ratings:
    +3
    Kinda down the lines what I was thinking really, I did register an interest the first day they were taking them, but I've received no e-mail and thus unable to pre-order.

    I guess being a "Sky pioneer" counts for nothing with Sky nowadays :rolleyes:
     
  8. mossesque

    mossesque
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    201
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    The site still won't anyone esle pre-order Sky HD. However the link from the Pre-order Sky HD email sent out to pre-registered lucky ones does!
     
  9. Chevalier

    Chevalier
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +5
    I have just looked here https://survey.sky.com/HDPrereg/Default.asp and it looks like pr-ordering is still available...but I have not tried!
     
  10. jonf

    jonf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    just pre-ordered. now i need a hdmi - dvi cable!
     

Share This Page

Loading...