Sky's HD Powerpoint presentation

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Gordon A, Mar 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gordon A

    Gordon A
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +37
    This might be old hat, but found this lurking in the newsgroups and thought it might be of interest! One thing's interesting for sure: "300Gb hard drive - 160Gb for customer recordings, 140Gb reserved for future use."

    [I'm really sorry, guys, but the Sky people have asked me to remove the link as it's a confidential document and we don't want to get in to trouble for linking to it. Hopefully we can bring you some official Sky HD news in our forthcoming podcast.]
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Nice one ! Nice to see that Sky provide such good training :smashin:
     
  3. wandersen

    wandersen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    521
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Like like proprietary Sky information to me. I would be very careful about hosting this on my own website. That said, thanks for the info !

    Also confirms the Octo LNB.
     
  4. hurdy

    hurdy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I may be being thick (definitely) - what did the bit about using the 'help' button to control AV equipment mean?
     
  5. Member 55145

    Member 55145
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,483
    nice one :thumbsup: atleast we now know how to obtain hd channels

    i.e they come free with the relevant subscription i.e no extra cost for any hd channels if your on sky world! :D

    and now i know that i need to get a phone line too! bugger! :mad:
     
  6. sweezely

    sweezely
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1

    That's superb news - no extra subscription! Just tell us how much the box is and when we get it!
     
  7. hurdy

    hurdy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Thats not how I read it - I thought it said that you need a HD sub to recieve Skyone, Artsworld, SBO, etc. To recieve Movies9 you need movies mix 1, for Movies 10 you need movies mix 2 and for sports you need Sportsmix. Sky+ funtionality requires sub as per now.

    So - top package is full sky pakcage plus HD sub...
     
  8. Member 55145

    Member 55145
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,483
    read post above :p looks pretty good to me! :clap:
     
  9. hurdy

    hurdy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    "If a customer has the appropriate equipment but does not have an active HD subscription, when they attempt to view or playback HD channels an message will be displayed advising them to upgrade their subscription"

    Not disagreeing with you (I'm confused at the mo) - but doesn't that suggest that there is a HD sub?
     
  10. wandersen

    wandersen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    521
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Also makes clear that at launch all HD material will be available via component.
     
  11. Member 55145

    Member 55145
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,483
    i think thats referring to if you have standard sky and are not subscribed to say sky sports so your not subscribed to sky sports hd either. note how the demo image is on sky sports HD
     
  12. sweezely

    sweezely
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    My understanding was that if you have the full package, you get all the HD channels with no extra sub. But, if you e.g. just have Movies Package 1, you can view Sky Movies 9 HD at no extra cost, but if you try and watch Sky Movies 10 HD you'll get a subscription upgrade message - exactly the same as now with any channel you don't subscribe to.
     
  13. usagi13

    usagi13
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +47
    It certainly looks quite promising at the moment that if you get subscribe to the relevant channels then you are going to get the HD stuff for free.

    It makes some sense I suppose on Skys part but I do think the price of the HD box is not going to be cheap.
     
  14. andypearce

    andypearce
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    300
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    wales
    Ratings:
    +8
    I think it is saying that as it is currently , if you have one or more premium packages then the sky+ functionality carries no subscription cost. It says before that that Sky HD does carry an extra subscription charge.

    To me this means that if you have the current basic Sky package then you will have to pay an extra sub for HD and another sub for Sky+ - this will give you access to Sky One HD, Artsworld HD, National Geographic HD and Discovery HD. If you subscribe to any of the premium packages then you don't have to pay the £10 for Sky+ and you extra Sky HD sub gives you access to the HD version of the package(s) you are on. To make the most of you HD sub you will need to be on the full Sky package.
     
  15. Evil Engineer

    Evil Engineer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    994
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    Ratings:
    +60
    If there isn't a seperate HD monthly sub I reckon this means the actual box will be more expensvie to start with.

    £300 without the extra subsidies from a specific HD subscription sounds too low to me.

    Perhaps all those £400-£600 estimates aren't so far off the mark.

    I'd loved to be proved wrong, though. 300 quid for HD without an additional sub would be an absolute bargain. At that price I'd have their arm off as soon as they offered!
     
  16. daKlone

    daKlone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,005
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    42
    Ratings:
    +19
    All other posters of SkyHD "information" please note: This is the sort of thead we want - not all the "The bloke down the pub said" nonsense.

    Well done Gordon - nice find!

    It does appear quite clear that there will be no extra subscription for people who already have "the full monty" :clap:
     
  17. tpr007

    tpr007
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,823
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Ratings:
    +334
    I can't shake the feeling that it's not a genuine sky presentation.
     
  18. wyrdness

    wyrdness
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    278
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    It's genuine. Who else would go to the trouble of creating a 69 page powerpoint presentation with over 6600 words?

    Look at File->Properties->Contents and note the fonts and template.
     
  19. Azzin

    Azzin
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,072
    We've got everything except movies-how will this affect us? :lease:
     
  20. BIGMAX

    BIGMAX
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    747
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +18
    FWIW I think they are implying that there will be a HD sub and then depending on what package you subscribe to you will be able to see the HD version of these channels. Can't see them giving away the HD channels at launch because they will not be gaining any ongoing extra revenue from the HD service. Mind you if they charge £600-£700 for the box then they could justify it. But it does say that there will be a HD sub. By doing it this way Sky could potentially get more customers to upgrade their package if they take out the HD sub and like the quality so much, they may then think it worth taking extra movies or sport is they can watch in HD. All depending on how much better the quality is which is still up in the air a bit.
     
  21. daKlone

    daKlone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,005
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    42
    Ratings:
    +19
    If I understand the presso correctly, it says that you will get all the HD channels EXCEPT Movies9HD and Movies10HD.
     
  22. sweezely

    sweezely
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thinking about it, if there's no extra sub then the box will probably cost more.
     
  23. tony79

    tony79
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,172
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +88
    I cant see anything beyond £300 tbh. Sky want to sell as much as these beggers as they can and I cant see them pricing it of most peoples budgets. Ive heard people say that when sky+ came out that it was 300 quid so HD must be even more expensive. However when sky+ was introduced it was very new technology at the time. So I suspect that even though its going to have a huge hard drive on it (which arent that expensive when you think of the bulk theyll be getting them in) the actual cost of producing the box wont be too dissimilar to the cost of making sky+ at the time of introduction.in fact i would hazzard a guess that Sky+ 40g boxes will be lowered to £50, Sky+ 160g in at £129-150 and Sky HD at around £250-300. just my thoughts thats all I aint privvy to insider info!!:D :D :D
     
  24. wandersen

    wandersen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    521
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    I will reiterate what I said above. This is proprietary information of Sky and highly recommend whoever has put this on a website to delete it as soon as possible. Sky are more litigation happy than just about any company out there and will be all over whoever it is that posts this information.
     
  25. Member 55145

    Member 55145
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,483
    at the end of the day, sky has to tell its shareholders next year if sky HD was worth investing in. if only 1000 people bought HD boxes due to price it would be a major blow and egg on their faces.

    Sky need to get as many HD boxes out their as possible to show that jumping to HD now was a good step. as said in that presentation, moving to sky HD has been their most costly operation to date. so they need bums on seats when it comes to new customers as they will be the ones mainly increasing the revenue
     
  26. loz

    loz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,062
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,787
    It isn't 100% clear from the presentation whether there is a separate HD sub.

    Slide 61 says "If a customer has the appropriate equipment but does not have an active HD subscription, when they attempt to view or playback HD channels an message will be displayed advising them to upgrade their subscription"

    which imples there is an HD sub.

    Whereas slide 62 says "By purchasing any of the DTH mix packages 2-6 the customer will receive 4 HD entertainment channels – Sky One HD, Artsworld HD, National Geographic HD and Discovery HD"

    which could be interpreted as the basic sub package provides access to the HD channels.

    It could also be interpreted as both slides need to be read together.
    As in,
    If you have an HD Sub (slide 51) and you have a sub package (52) then you will get access to the HD channels as relevant to that sub package.

    That is how I read it
     
  27. Fusewire

    Fusewire
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +104
    Here, here, finaly a SkyHD info thread with some real info on it. :smashin:

    Is it worth making a sticky ?
     
  28. TiSwAs

    TiSwAs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Blackpool
    Ratings:
    +20
    Great info, shame i can't get my head around the subs bit after reading this thread and the PPT. LOL
     
  29. loz

    loz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,062
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,787
    but as has been pointed out - based on what is probably proprietary information that shouldn't be in the public domain :lesson:
     
  30. andypearce

    andypearce
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    300
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    wales
    Ratings:
    +8
    I don't think that's at all clear tbh. Slide 61 cleary says;

    which specifically mentions a HD sub.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...