1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Skybox with DVI output?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by ncpl, Jan 30, 2003.

  1. ncpl

    ncpl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    348
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +1
    the syncblaster thread has got me thinking.......

    Although I am about decided that my current Panny Skybox will get to the forthcoming Plasma via a JS RGB Scart to VGA converter, I am just struck with the question of how many sat decoder boxes have DVI outputs ?
    Would that fed to a suitable pdp give even better results than a RGB/VGA converter?

    Are any of you guys/gals using one to take DVI straight to a pdp?

    thanks

    Nick
     
  2. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,981
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,785
    DVI doesn't support interlaced PAL or NTSC so I'd have thought the answer would be none...
    Gordon
     
  3. ncpl

    ncpl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    348
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +1
    OK......converter it is then...

    cheers
     
  4. sheggsl

    sheggsl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2000
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    I am sure that is entirely accurate Gordon, HDTV 1080i is interlaced and that is a supported DVI resolution. Have that going into my DILA projector and the projector recognises it as such. I beleive 480i is rumored not to be supported at the moment. However the DVI standards for HT are currently fluid and no one knows what will be supported in the future.

    I suppose the easy but not cheap solution will be to get an SDI modified Digibox if you can find one, "have been looking for a SKy+ one for awhile".....and then feed that signal into one of the soon to appear scalers HD Leeza or Assimilator which have an SDI input and DVI output.
     
  5. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,981
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,785
    1080i is not NTSC. It is an ATSC HiDef standard. My more accurate staement is that DVI doesn't support a low enough bandwidth for SD NTSC or PAL interlaced output.

    An sdi output SkyPlus box is the best solution anyway as you note. Unfortunetly they are MEGA expensive.£1000+

    Gordon
     
  6. robfitzp

    robfitzp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +20
    Not that I can remotely afford it at the moment but who modifies Sky boxes for SDI output?

    Cheers
    Rob.
     
  7. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,981
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,785
  8. AOD

    AOD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Check out these guys as well.

    They're the ones responsible for the plasma screen reviewed here some time ago.

    The interesting part of the review is in the third paragraph where it states that the company can modify a digibox or DVD player to add an SDI output. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...