Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Sky with widescreen question

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Weinberg, Dec 9, 2003.

  1. Weinberg

    Weinberg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sky was installed today. I have a widescreen panasonic TV, and a Thomson digibox. I'd like to know which setting is the best to get normal sized (ie non stretched) pictures. I've found that if I change the setting to 16:9, then widescreen signals are detected and my TV adjusts itself to show them properly. If it's on 4:3 this doesn't happen. If I have a widescreen, should I be using the 16:9 mode and leaving my tv on auto-adjust mode? What settings should I use to get a normal sized picture?
     
  2. MarkR

    MarkR
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,900
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Somewhere in Kent
    Ratings:
    +344
    I keep mine on the widescreen setting all the time. I think most channels cater for this now. When I had my 32" I used to have it on the automatic setting which I found a pain especially when it came to adverts as the screen kept adjusting. If you are watching a programme and it is strecthed just flick through the settings until you find the right one.
     
  3. Weinberg

    Weinberg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    When you say keep it in widescreen mode, do you mean 16:9 mode? I find "Panasonic Auto" (where the pic adjusts) to be fine, and in this mode it goes to widescreen if an actual widescreen signal is detected. 16:9 often looks squashed/stretched.
    So do I keep the sky box in 16:9 mode then?
     
  4. MarkR

    MarkR
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,900
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Somewhere in Kent
    Ratings:
    +344
    On mine it is called widescreen it doesn't say 16:9. Sorry cant be of more help.
     
  5. WeirdFish

    WeirdFish
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hadleigh, Essex
    Ratings:
    +15
    yes, keep the digibox set on widescreen/16:9.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice