1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky+ with HD

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by arn, May 20, 2005.

  1. arn

    arn
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Messages:
    269
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bury
    Ratings:
    +1
    Does anyone know if the sky+ box's are going to work with HD when it comes out? or do you need a new box?
    Thinking about getting sky+ but don't want to waste my money
     
  2. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,924
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +88
    Existing boxes won't work, you'll need a new one.

    John
     
  3. arn

    arn
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Messages:
    269
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bury
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ahh so that's why they have come down to £99

    Guess ill wait then.

    Thanks :smashin:
     
  4. shoestring25

    shoestring25
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +206
    high def is going to be expensive ive got to buy a new tele new sky box, not to mention a new dvd player and dvds.
     
  5. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979



    It would only be a waste of money IF you have or are going to buy a HD display and prepared to spend anything from £300 upwards (conservative guess) to buy the new SKY+ HD and add a further X amount onto your SKY subscription for the HD content.

    If you are not then SKY+ will serve you well for years to come since standard def broadcasts are not going away anytime soon. When that time comes or at least there is enough HD content to make SD pointless then the cost of both the displays and hardware will be a fraction of what they are today.
     
  6. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,457
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,762
    I certainly won't be going HD at the very start of it for the reason listed above by Starburst. It will get a lot cheaper after a couple of years and they might have ironed out any problems they get at the launch of HD ;)
    I'm even thinking about changing my mirror subscription box to a Sky+ one as I like it that much.
     
  7. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,465
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +184
    LMAO - Expensive it will be. I remember buying my Sky+ when it first came out. The box was £299 and the installation was £150! Regardless to say I just picked the box up off the shelf at Comet and installed it myself to save £150.
     
  8. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979



    Standard install for SKY+ was £50, what conditions didn't you meet for them to ask that much?
     
  9. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,465
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +184
    Oops youre right my maths is poo. It was £349 all in - so the install must've been £50.
     
  10. Astaroth

    Astaroth
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +95
    do we know yet if the existing dish/lnb/2 cables are going to all ok for HD or if any of the above will also need changing?
     
  11. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979


    It should be a simple box swap to move from SKY+ to SKY+ HD assuming the dish/cabling are performing upto spec:)

    Interesting to see if SKY enforce a charge for installation from SKY+ users who are upgrading.
     
  12. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    No, we only know that there will be at least one HD channel in the Sky offering by the autumn. The rest is pure conjecture. There simply isn't space in the 28.2 degree slot to accomodate HD versions of all the channels currently available on Sky.
     
  13. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979




    Nor is there any indication that the majority of third party broadcasters (including ITV, Ch4 and Five) have any real interest at least in the short term of supporting the format on Dsat.
     

Share This Page

Loading...