SKY+. what a mess:(

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Starburst, Sep 1, 2001.

  1. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    SKY+ guy just came round with my new shiney box, set it up using the existing cable and then went out to the dish. Had a look at it and then refused to climb the ladder onto me roof and install the LNB. He then rang another guy who came around and he said I would have to have a "special" fitter to install the LNB, higher price maybe and maybe even a 3 month wait.

    Seriously p****d off <img src="frown.gif" border="0">
     
  2. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seriously ****ed off here as well, booked for today, engineer rang me to tell me he didn't have any Sky+ boxes!!!!!!!!!! How the hell can they be so incompetent? Where are you then as it sounds like there's a spare Sky+ box going!

    Cheers<br />Andy
     
  3. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Sorry Andy but he's already taken it away, jesus it looked a great piece of hardware and the menus were lightning fast compared to my faithful first gen box.
     
  4. Jon Baker

    Jon Baker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +0
    You could do it yourself.<br />The LNB is easy to detach from the mini dish without changing the dish alignment. Check the skew setting before you remove it though.
     
  5. rdg

    rdg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Messages:
    83
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it wrong to envy those who got a call from the engineer? In my case, they didn't even bother with that. I had to spend a (not so) good 15 minutes to get the 'no stock' news.
     
  6. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    I could do it myself but if you had seen the look of terror on myself when I had to climb upto the bedroom window after locking myself out you would realise why I'm not going too <img src="smile.gif" border="0">
     
  7. johnson

    johnson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    550
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +6
    Yes you can just buy the sky+ box from currys etc.<br />The box includes the second lnb but no coax.<br />Simon
     
  8. warne

    warne
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for that, Simon. I'll probably go down that route then, considering all the problems people seem to have been having with Sky installing it (or should I say, NOT installing it!).

    You said it includes a second LNB - does this mean you don't get the whizzy quad LNB like you do if you get it from Sky? Or did you mean a "new" LNB. I'd like to connect my old box up in another room to watch FTA channels, so having the Quad LNB is quite important.
     
  9. johnson

    johnson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    550
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +6
    I thought this was the second lnb,but I've just contacted sky who informed me it is a quad lnb.Four outlets.<br />Simon
     
  10. Jon Baker

    Jon Baker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can we just get confirmation that you can walk out of Curry's etc with the box. Okay you have to sign the 12 months subscription, but can you get away without paying the £50 installation, has anyone tried yet ?
     
  11. warne

    warne
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd quite like to do the installation myself (I installed my old analogue Sky system without any probs), and the digi dish is very accessible. Two questions, though :<br />Can I order Sky+ from Sky without the fitting? Or alternatively, can I just buy it from a high street store yet?

    Is it easy to check the alignment with a digi dish? I didn't install that myself - the Sky engineer just bolted it onto my existing mount.
     
  12. warne

    warne
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info, Simon. That's good news. I'll give it a go in the next couple of weeks if I can get hold of one, but I'll also be interested to hear if any else had gone down the self - install route.
     
  13. johnson

    johnson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    550
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +6
    Yes currys just take the 299 pounds.Sky take the instalation cost if you phone them.But the pvr function doesn't work unless sky switch it on
     
  14. warne

    warne
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I assume that doesn't mean you have to pay Sky the installation cost before they activate the PVR? <br />Presumably, as long as I cough up my 10 quid a month, they'll activate it once I've got it installed.
     
  15. johnson

    johnson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    550
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +6
    That's the way I see it yes.
     
  16. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Went to my local Comet and they wouldn't sell me SKY+, they also said they didn't have any and aren't expecting any! Didn't have the energy to point out it's listed on comet's own website <img src="smile.gif" border="0">
     
  17. warne

    warne
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Regarding installation costs - looking at other information I've come across, it would seem you must pay £50 installation if you order the box directly from Sky. However, if you buy it from another outlet, you don't. I suppose this makes sense, as a common alternative would be to get the box from a specialist independent retailer/installer, to whom you'd pay the installation costs directly.

    I guess I should check with Sky first, but hopefully I can buy a box, install it myself, then call Sky to get the card registered to the box, and the EPG activated (then get an FTV card for the old box).

    I'll let you know how I get on - in the meantime, if anyone else has been down this route, please let me know.
     
  18. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    I drove into Derby this morning and visited the Currys store. They had SKY+ for sale but after chatting to one of the assistants we both came to the conclusion that if I bought a SKY+ box and had the LNB and cables fitted by myself or a third party I would still have to pay SKY £50 for an enginner to come out and turn the box on.

    Quite frankly I've had enough of SKY+, I rang up SKY when I got home and cancelled my film and sport subscriptions. They didn't give a toss but it made me feel better and once independent installers stock SKY+ I look into it again.
     
  19. warne

    warne
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm confused!

    I've read posts on this and other bulletin boards which say you definitely can do the installation youself - just ring up Sky and they'll re-register your card with the new box, and activate the PVR. <br />I've also read posts which say when you try to do this, Sky refuse to activate it as it hasn't been "properly" installed!<br />Which is true???

    Is this a case, like everything else is with Sky, of depending on which operator you speak to when you ring them? I'm very keen to get SKY+, I know I can install it myself without any probs, but the last thing I want is to get home from Dixons with my big box, spend two hours running cables, only to then be told by Sky to get stuffed when I try to activate the thing!

    Anybody have any definitive information about self installation?
     
  20. lmccauley

    lmccauley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Messages:
    3,305
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +213
    I've just ordered Sky+ from my local independent installer (TVS, Newcastle) and they are charging £299 for the box + £50 for the install.

    Cheers,<br />Liam
     
  21. Jon Baker

    Jon Baker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just been down to my local Dixons and walked out with a Digi+ box without pre-ordering or signing anything apart from the Visa bill for £300.<br />The staff were pretty clueless.<br />Tommorrow I'm going to cable up to the 2nd channel of my existing quad lnb and do the install through the secret menu then ring sky.<br />I'll post what happens.
     
  22. GRAHAME

    GRAHAME
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ALL

    NEW SKY BOXES... WITH 2 COAX LEADS JOINED TOGETHER.... READY FOR DOLBY DIGITAL OUTPUT .... AM I MISSING SOMETHING HER - WE CHANGED TO SKY DIGITAL SOME TIME AGO AND HAVENT SEEN ANYTHING REGARDING SKY+ - I THOUGHT INITIALLY YOU GUYS WERE TALKING ABT A NEW SKY PACKAGE OR SOMETHING

    JUST WENT INTO THE SKY ADD ON THE NET AND CLDNT SEE ANYTHING ON THEIR EITHER - AM ALWAYS THERE TO IMPROVE SOUND AND IF CAN GET DOLBY DIGITAL FROM SKY I'M UP FOR IT .........

    AM I HAVING MY LEG PULLED HERE ????
     
  23. Norman

    Norman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Herne Bay
    Ratings:
    +134
    It's a pain, but I don't think theres any way out of the £50 installation.

    My Sky+ is being installed tomorrow (Friday 7th) but because my coax is run through wall trunking and in the loft void I didn't want to take the chance that they would turn up and say "Can't do that mate" so I've laid the new cable myself.

    I spoke to an independant installer who said that the figure of eight twin coax cable that Sky have specified is a bit cheap and nasty and he recommended running two CT100 coax cables if the total length of cable run was more than 10m (which mine is). I have now done this. I expect I'll have to go up the ladder and change the LNB as well.

    So my £50 installation fee will in fact be a £50 delivery fee - GITS!!!!!
     
  24. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Thanks Jon,

    I hope it all goes well <img src="smile.gif" border="0">
     
  25. warne

    warne
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers Jon.

    I wait with baited breath ...

    <br />(never did understand what that means!)
     
  26. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Glad to say my + box arrived today as arranged installed by sky on time etc...menues are super fast and the recording options are fab !!<br />once the kids have grown out of thmoas the tank videos etc it might be bye bye video reorder !! <img src="smile.gif" border="0">
     
  27. gbmitie

    gbmitie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    republic of ireland now
    Ratings:
    +56
    tell us more John. Is it a QUAD lnb? What happened to the old LNB and Digibox. Did the engineer explain why it is a quad LNB or am I mistaken and it was a DUAL lnb. If you kept the 1st box how did the rig the phone line to 2 boxes?

    Anything else would be useful.

    SANAP
     
  28. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The new lnb is a quad. The fitter therefore run a second line to the second lnb input on the box<br />I was one of the daft mugs to pay for my original digi box so was able to keep it.It will be easy therefore to run a third line to this box by myself in a bedroom and obtain a free to air card, although question if this is truly worth doing. As for Sky +, first impressions...go for it !!
     
  29. Jon Baker

    Jon Baker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +0
    Job done !!!

    Now got Sky+ working without the rip off £50 installation.<br />Just to re-iterate everything you need apart from the cable and the extra 2 F connectors comes in the box. The quad lnb is a phillips (0.7db) and surprisingly its not "in-line" like the old lnb but has the feedhorn perpendicular to lnb box.<br />You won't need any self amalgamating tape as blanking glands and cable shrouds are supplied.

    I already had a quad lnb fitted so after running in a second cable I powered up the +box. You now get 2 lots of strength and quality bars under services.

    Stick the old card in and goto to the "secret" install menu and select install and go through the screens. Make sure that the callback to sky completes if it fails try again (mine failed first time). Thats all you need to do to marry your old card to the new box. You should get all your channels back after a while (the bbc and sky movies and sports were last to come through). Now ring the Sky+ helpline and go option 2 - activate and ask for the subscription upgrade for +, you will then be able to do all the + functions within an hour - no forms to sign its done there and then.

    A couple of points :-

    The guy who posted earlier who rang sky and was refused activation because his system hadn't been installed, mustn't have done the secret menu install before ringing up.

    Although the remote eye thingy works, it only works with your new remote - makes sense, but is this the reason for the confusion in postings ?

    The optical output has two set up options if you set it to dolby digital you get dolby prologic to your amp so set it now and wait for xmas dobly digital.

    The s-vhs only works through the 5 pin socket so you have to tap the audio from the phonos into your video - but the picture when viewed "live" is hardly discernable from RGB.

    The box runs HOT you can't hear the fan - I wonder if it cuts in at a set temp.<br />The manual says don't have more than a video or dvd player in an enclose cabinet with the +box.

    The picture quality is the same as my old 1998 pace digibox. The poster who said there picture was worse have you checked RGB is enabled in the picture setup under services ?
     
  30. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Much appreciated Jon, thanks for the information.
     

Share This Page

Loading...