1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky+ Warranty

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by thejudge, May 17, 2005.

  1. thejudge

    thejudge
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    Will my Sky+ warranty cover my remote control? It has recently started to act very strangely. At least 3 times a day it stops responding completely and i have to remove the back cover and take the batteries out ( Fresh Duracells) then place then batteries back into the remote control. This messes with my TV set up as it for some reason no longer seems to retail its code even though the batteries are only out for 10 secs.

    Very Strange! :eek:
     
  2. Astaroth

    Astaroth
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +101
    The standard 12 month warrenty would also cover the remote control. If you are talking about an extended warrenty then you need to read the T&Cs of your contract.
    The problem with remotes is that it is very easy to say that the remote has been dropped or it is natural wear and tear and not a manufacturing fault which is the only part which is covered by a manufactures warrenty


    I know when I used to sell Sky Care - their old extended warrenty package - the remote was something that was forever switching between being and not being covered.
     
  3. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Do you have a plasma screen ?
     
  4. Bluevanman

    Bluevanman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try using batteries other than Duracell. Some people say that the Duracells are too strong for the remote. Put in normal life batteries, they should last for around 12 months.
     
  5. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    20,054
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,912
    How do you work that one out :rolleyes:
    A remote control just like any other piece of battery-operated equipment will take as much current as it needs therefore if you use higher capacity batteries such as alkalines or Duracells they will last longer :lesson:
     
  6. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    18,958
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +5,011
  7. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    20,054
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,912
  8. thejudge

    thejudge
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't just a 28" Widescreen CRT
     
  9. thejudge

    thejudge
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll try different batteries and see what happens.
     

Share This Page

Loading...