Sky vs NTL digital

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by ensyed, Aug 28, 2003.

1. ensyed

ensyed

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am new to the UK and have a choice of NTL digital or Sky. Which one would you recommend and why?
    I am planning on buying a plasma screen TV (Panny PWD5 42 inch)
    THanks

Rummy

2. Starburst

Starburst

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +979
    This will be fun:)

NTL, good phone and internet services but digital TV is it's weakness, some franchise areas still using analogue TV.
    Some good promo offers for new customers atm and hardware is loaned so all repair/maintenance is covered by your subscription.

SKY, they only do digital TV and quite frankly lead the way both in terms of hardware and channel lineups. They still carry more exclusive content than NTL and there are more TV and Radio channels on satellite that can be picked up free of charge.
    Hardware is generally subsidised as long as you agree to hook it up to a phone connection for 1 year and is your property so if and when you cancel you can sell it or use for the free channels.
    Down side is that the hardware only comes with a UK standard 1 year warranty so after that you are expected to cover repair costs.

Picture quality for both platforms is broadly similar (Personal opinion after having both digital platforms is that SKY is better).
    A SKY installation has to be good as it can be suceptable to heavy rain/snow falls which degrades the signal from the satellite and can result in a loss of signal. NTL STB's have an integrated cable modem unlike the SKY STB's which rely on a standard 56k modem but SKY's interactive/shopping/gaming services are more advanced than NTL's.