Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

sky+ voiding my warranty?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by achilles8, Nov 29, 2004.

  1. achilles8

    achilles8
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    I really wanted to upgrade the hard disk on my new sky+ amstrad box. But I now have had the "no signal detected" problem twice(see the other thread with that title).

    So does anyone know what my warrantyposition would be in case I do upgrade the hard disk? I guess sky would then refuse to change the box even if it turned out to be a faulty one later on?
     
  2. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +108
    Replacing the hard disk would invalidate the warranty. If you did need to call them out though, could you not just put the original back in again?

    John
     
  3. achilles8

    achilles8
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    yep thats exactly what I was wondering, I am not sure if there is a seal inside the box that gets broken once opened??
     
  4. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Don't know about Amstrad, but if they're anything like the Pace, you'll need the security tool to get in without leaving marks on the screw heads. These are widely available.
     
  5. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +17
    No seal. They may be able to tell if some paint has been chipped off the screws but that would be marginal if you use the right screwdriver, besides you would probably have been given a new box by then.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice