1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky + via svideo to PJ

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by rimibar, Mar 20, 2005.

  1. rimibar

    rimibar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    428
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi All,

    Am enjoying a demo of an H78 this weekend, DVD picture is nothing short of marvellous, but Sky is another story.....

    No matter whether I output a Pal or RGB signal from the Sky+ box, the picture shows vertical banding all over the picture.

    Anyone seen this before? Know how to fix it? Please let me know!
     
  2. rimibar

    rimibar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    428
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4
    Just tried a RGB > Component converter and those lines are also present. Anyone any ideas?
     
  3. MacReady

    MacReady
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +108
    Are you using an Amstrad Sky+ box ? If you are I suggest you readthis thread
     
  4. Oakleyspatz

    Oakleyspatz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,576
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Woking
    Ratings:
    +231
    I have tried this with an Scart to S-Video converter and got exactly the same results, i.e. verticle banding moving all over the picture. I assumed it was the cable and returned it for a refund but if anyone has been able to use a Sky box with scart to a pj with S-Video or component with success, I'd be very interested to know
     
  5. sjb

    sjb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    S.E. Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2
    We've got a 15mtr long s-video cable connecting SKY + to an H77 at the moment, the picture's pretty damn good :thumbsup:

    Regards,

    Stan.
     
  6. rimibar

    rimibar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    428
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4
    Don't think it's the Sky Box as I was using it with a different (lower res) projector in the past with no apparent line problem.

    Since then I have tried plugging in my XBOX (via component) and this too has the line problem. Any further thoughts anyone?
     

Share This Page

Loading...