1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky+ via communal satellite dish. Have 3 SAT connections

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by neilrufc, Sep 24, 2005.

  1. neilrufc

    neilrufc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    Can i connect SKY+ via a communal satellite dish. I have been told that Sky+ needs 2 connections or something. I have 3 white points in my apartment.

    1 in the living room,
    1 in the 1st bedroom,
    1 in the 2nd bedroom.

    Th white points have 3 connection. They are

    TV
    SAT
    FM

    Could i make Sky+ work by using 2 SAT connections?

    Thanks

    Neil
     
  2. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    20,078
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,912
    No, another lead has to run from the LNB on the dish to the Sky+ digibox.
     
  3. neilrufc

    neilrufc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your reply man


    I thought the LNB just allowed 2 different connections to the Sky+ Box. I have 3 SAT connection thoughout my place that allow me for example - to watch 3 different sky in 3 different rooms via 3 different boxes. I would have thought by connecting say the SAT connection in the living room to 1st connection on the sky+ box, then the SAT in the bedroom to the 2nd connection on sky+ box this would give me a complete working sky+


    What do you think about this??

    thanks again
     
  4. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    20,078
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,912
    Are you absolutely sure about that?
    Are they not just 3 outlets to enable you to have your sky digibox in any room?
     
  5. hog

    hog
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +36
    hi
    if you have 3 of the triple sockets like you say , you just need to run a longer lead from the nearest one to the sky plus box.
     
  6. Ridcully

    Ridcully
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +29
    The longer lead idea should work as this is what I have done on mine. I suspect the way your flat is set up is as follows.

    All four LNB feed going to a digital mux, TV and FM also mixed in with this. Then 3 feeds per flat taken off the mux, 1 for each room. Therefore each feed should be able to provide TV, FM and any sky feed irrespective of the others
     
  7. neilrufc

    neilrufc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    Can you watch say 3 sky boxes on different channels at the same time via your SAT feeds?

    Thanks
     
  8. Ridcully

    Ridcully
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +29
    Yes. The mux has all four LNB feeds. So all it does is send the correct on down the cable depending on waht is asked for by the Sky box.

    With regards to your PM about the sky+, yes it should work
     
  9. neilrufc

    neilrufc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do i need special cable for this or will coax cable be cool?

    thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...