1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky+ VCR Scart

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by troymcclure, Feb 21, 2004.

  1. troymcclure

    troymcclure
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can someone tell me why the Sky+ VCR scart does not switch aspect ratios (just tried it). I was hoping to connect the plasma aspect ratio controller using this scart so as not to insert yet another (Quattro, RGB2YUV, iScan) component into the signal path.

    troy
     
  2. CARLOS

    CARLOS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    5,953
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    WEST MIDLANDS
    Ratings:
    +1,212
    Probably because its designed to connect to a VCR not a display ?

    Why not modify a scart lead and run just the pin 8 and earth connection to your ratio controller ?
     
  3. troymcclure

    troymcclure
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you elaborate on your second sentence. Doesn't the fact that the VCR scart does not switch aspect ratios mean that it isn't sending anything on pin 8?

    Thanks,

    troy
     
  4. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    Hi i'm Liam McLaughlin - you may know me from such threads as "where did all my pixels go?" and "Alice through the Plasma Glass!"...

    [couldn't resist]


    Anyway, I reckon you should stick the controller between Quintro+ and RGB2YUV since all sources running through the Quintro+ will benefit from the correct aspect ratio. Also consider (if relevant) running a composite video link from TV1 output to the plasma directly for any VCRs etc running through the switcher.

    And asides from Homer and Professor Frink, Troy McClure is probably the funniest character on the Simpsons :D Oh... and Krusty the Klown :clown:
     
  5. troymcclure

    troymcclure
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    But I have the Quattro not the Quintro. The Quattro doesn't pass through the widescreen signal.

    By the way Liam, if you haven't worked it out already, "you may remember me from such questions as "A11 or 2900 and how much is that Lazy-Boy".


    troy
     
  6. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    Ah, that would be me stumped then!!! Fancy buying a Quintro???
     
  7. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    A good suggestion that 'extract the pin 8 wire' idea. That's your only way fwd with your setup, and it won't affect the signal at all.
     

Share This Page

Loading...