1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SKY+ V1 Versus V2 box

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by gtg60, Mar 9, 2005.

  1. gtg60

    gtg60
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    386
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +35
    Just changed my V2 Sky+ digibox for a V1 one in preparation for my SDI upgrade and there is a very noticeable degradation in picture quality which I'm not happy about at all.
    I'm prepared to live with it if it improves the picture quality once the SDI mod is finished but I'm just wondering if I've got a duff digibox?

    Strangely the picture quality on Pal Vs Pal is comparable but with RGB Vs RGB there's a large difference.

    Also, I'm going to be using my PC to do the scaling, one of the outputs on the Video card is DVI, would I see a better picture if I was to use that output and a DVI to HDMI cable as opposed to using the standard PC input?

    Thanks
    Keith
     
  2. gtg60

    gtg60
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    386
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +35
    Nobody any opinions?
     
  3. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,924
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +88
    I've had a Pace V1 & V2 box and can't say I noticed any difference in the RGB pic fed to a 42" plasma.

    John
     
  4. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,980
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +129
    I haven't used the V1 box for analogue output much since getting the SDI mod, but I can't say I was aware any drop in PQ compared to the V2. If its as bad as you say then it must be a faulty box.
     
  5. gtg60

    gtg60
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    386
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +35
    Damn, that's what I was afraid of, may as well continue with the SDI mod and hope that it bypasses the problem, thanks
    Keith
     
  6. David PluggedIn

    David PluggedIn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi Keith

    agreed - there shouldnt be much in it between v1 and v2.
     
  7. ukdan

    ukdan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    swindon
    Ratings:
    +84
    Its a shame you cant do the sdi mod on v2 box, its a little better looking i think.
    any one know why the v2 box cant have sdi?
     
  8. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    As I understand it the V1 chipset is less integrated, the connections required to add the SDI mod are accessible unlike the latter chipsets which use fewer single chips and are therefore more compact and cheaper to source and you would hope more reliable:)
     
  9. Jules

    Jules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    5,052
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +721
    Got both boxes, and would say the V2 definately has the better picture.
    It is cleaner with more vibrant colours.

    That said, I prefer the V1 as the fan doesn't sound like a jet engine and it is a better cosmetic match to the rest of my full size AV gear.
     
  10. David PluggedIn

    David PluggedIn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    I think reliability is very difficult to get a handle on, you speak to different dealers and they have their own views, the only people that would know the real failure rates are the manufacturers themselves and that isnt data that they release.

    our own experience is that we have had no problems at all with v1 boxes, the reliability has been absolutely fine. Personally I like the v1 box, half silver, half black means that it matches (sort of!) most peoples kit.

    anyway, once you see the SDI picture then you dont bother looking at the box :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...