1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky+ v1 issues

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by MarkHudds, Sep 20, 2005.

  1. MarkHudds

    MarkHudds
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    548
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi

    Got a couple of issues with my Sky+ v1 box (on latest software) ...

    1) Apparently you can press the record button while watching a live program to do a manual recording? Pressing record doesn't do anything for me on a live program - works fine however on the TV guide! Live pause works ok so I can't work out what's wrong with the record?

    2) I've recently changed from Sky World (£42.50) down to a 2-mix (£15) subscription and some recordings are now not playing back (getting a not-subscribed message). I would understand this for channels I'm no longer subscribed to, however the recordings impacted are from E4 and LivingTV which are part of both Sky World and the variety mix on my current 2-mix sub.

    Tried Sky tech support and they hung up on me after getting nowhere :thumbsdow

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Dan2234

    Dan2234
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    This seems to be a known issue .
     
  3. Pug72

    Pug72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,953
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hereford
    Ratings:
    +267
    Don't you have to pay a subscription for the '+' service when you don't have the required 2 premium channels?
     
  4. wormvortex

    wormvortex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    Ratings:
    +334
    yeah its £10 a month, but he can record using tvguide so that cant be the issue here
     
  5. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Well, just tried the record button on my V1 box and it works fine. I think the fact that it records at all with no premium subscription is the "glitch" :)
     
  6. ijd

    ijd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +129
    ""Tried Sky tech support and they hung up on me after getting nowhere""
    they hung up on you????did you get very very cross??? :mad:
     
  7. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    1) If you press "R" on a radio channel it automatically goes to the manual recording screen. If you press "R" on a TV channel then it brings up the N&N banner, you press "R" again and it starts to record the program.

    2) If you are not currently subscribed to the channel the program was recorded on then you can not watch it, the recording is encrypted on the disk. The E4 issue and it's placement in a MIX pack has I think been covered in another thread, a search may prove useful.
     
  8. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979


    :rotfl:


    Yeah of course you do, missed the obvious when I answered his post.
    Good job you and Nick are on the ball:)
     
  9. MarkHudds

    MarkHudds
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    548
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thanks for the replies guys ...

    I do pay the '+' subscription of an extra £10 :thumbsdow (£25 a month total). My v1 box is just ignoring the record button on live TV - so weird!!! (I'd like to go freesat with Sky+ however my wife insists she needs the channels on the variety mix).

    I'll have a look at the E4 issue, thanks Starburst.

    Did I get cross when they hung-up? Hell-yes ... so frustrating after jumping through their ususal hoops (turn off, take card-out etc !!!). "I'll have to talk to someone else to figure this out" ... followed by dropped-tone!!! :mad:
     

Share This Page

Loading...