Sky+ twin tuner=twin room?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by jsap, Jan 24, 2005.

  1. jsap

    jsap
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +1
    hey, im wondering if i upgraded to sky+ which has twin tuners can a TV connected to RF2 out watch a different channel to the scart or RF1 out. I understand that i would not be able to record while doing this, its just that its cheaper than multiroom and would give recording facility if needed.

    Many thanks in advance
     
  2. loz

    loz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,058
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,796
    In a nutshell, Nope.
     
  3. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    but IIRC you watch a recorded prog via RF2 while watching a live channel from AV1
     
  4. loz

    loz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,058
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,796
    Nope - there's only one decypter/decoder.
    So only one thing can be watched at any time - either a live prog OR a recorded one. But not both.

    You can record 2 different things, but that's a different matter, as they are not being decrypted/decoded whilst being recorded.
     
  5. Ian Trotter

    Ian Trotter
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    96
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Notts
    Ratings:
    +1
    don't know about the sky+ box, but I have a Pace twin tuner (Pace made the early versions of the sky+).
    The output of the TV2 scart shows the 'second tuner' signal and remains on the channel that it last recorded.
    Depending on your system / house wiring, you might be able to use this with an RF modulator to give limited viewing options.
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Twin is better specced than Sky+... I always get the features of the 2 confused.. BUT TWIN does do more than Sky+
     
  7. jsap

    jsap
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +1
    thanks for the quick replies :thumbsup: Can i get this trwin tuner box from sky now, or is it an old model, therefore ebay etc? Also if i use it, do i have to pay for two subscriptions (ie multiroom sky), or will it be covered under sky+ (free due to sports package)?

    Thanks again
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    the TWIN is for FreeView mate £170 no subs...........
     
  9. jsap

    jsap
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +1
    thanks for confirming, thats all that google was coming up with! I need to be able to do that with satellite.

    Thanks for the help
     

Share This Page

Loading...