1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SKy+ tv link advice

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Stereo Steve, Feb 4, 2004.

  1. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    I am istalling the wiring in my new house and would like to ask a little advice. In my old house, I had one of those Sky Link things going upstairs through the old TV coax cable which had a few joins in it. As such, I never got the thing to work, I assume due to the joins and old cable.

    In my new house, I have a Sky+ box in the living room and I have installed a shielded coax cable from there and left enought to reach the TV in the bedroom. I'm trying to avoid joins although I may have to have a wall socket at the bedroom end.

    Now, in the middle of the house is the electrics cupboard where I could intercept the cable and use some kind of amplifier to send it on to the bedroom.

    I've done a bit of googling but I'mstill a bit vague as to what exactly I need. Do I run a cable from Sky+box to cupboard and then a second cable to the bedroom or do I go for one long run (25m)? If I am terminating in the cupboard, what kind of booster do I need.

    I would be very greatful for some help at this stage as I'm having to make final descisions on this stuff prior to plastering. I could just leave a the coax looped into the cupboard and fit a booster later if neccesary.

    Help!
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    you need a "compatible" distributor for the Eye to work, Channel+ and Televes do em but a trip to your local TV repair or aeriel dish man should sort it. use CT100 coax and F connectors every where except the acual TV end ie Use F wall plates as the screw connection is much beter than aerial push fit!
     
  3. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    Yeah, I plan to use F types. So I just break the cable in the cupboard and fit a compatible booster?
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  5. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    OK, thanks. I think what I'll do is to leave a loop in the cupboard and try to get away without the distributor. I can then fit on eif the cable proves too long for the skylink to work.
     
  6. boltoa

    boltoa
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    917
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +102
    Note that if you do add a "compatible" amplifier later, which usually means it also inserts the 9v signal, you have to turn OFF the 9v on the Sky box. Took me a while to figure out why mine wasn't working :).

    Andrew
     
  7. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks:smoke:
     

Share This Page

Loading...