1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky+ to projector

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by stevos, Dec 16, 2004.

  1. stevos

    stevos
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    5,958
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +539
    Hi,
    I am currently using an s-video lead from my sky+ box into my Sharp VX-9000 projector.

    The current picture quality is terrible (at best).

    I was wondering what my options are and what effect they would have to the picture.

    So far I have considered

    1. A RGB Scart to RGB Component lead
    2. Using a HCPC, and using a bit of video processing

    Has anyone tried either of these? are they worth the outlay.

    On the HCPC side, I currently have a laptop (Intel 2400 mobile, Nvidia Geforce 4 440go, 512 MB ram) which I don't think is going to be good enough for the job. If I was to invest in a desktop, can anyone recommend a fast (for games) graphics or addon card that can input an RGB scart signal?

    Sorry for the long winded question

    Thank you in advance.

    Stephen
     
  2. Embarker

    Embarker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,623
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Garden of England
    Ratings:
    +63
    a sweetspot card will allow for RGB in.

    The cheapest way is with dscaler and a svideo capture card - pcworld do them for £30, you'll get good results with a very modest pc
     
  3. dan1979

    dan1979
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    I would have thought you would be able to get some sort of USB box that allows a video input to be plugged into your laptop. Then run the input through Dscaler.

    I have a TV card in my desktop and a Telewest digital box connected via composite, the picture is cack but with dscaler there is a huge improvement, I assume you'll get much better results from s-vide.
     
  4. stevos

    stevos
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    5,958
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +539
    Where do i get the nvidia codec from?
     

Share This Page

Loading...