1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky to Pio MXE. VGA or S video?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by midlander, Jun 7, 2003.

  1. midlander

    midlander
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +6
    I've finally decided to order the Pio 503MXE over the HDE and saved £200 at the same time (£5500 for 503MXE, 5002 card and desktop stand). I intend to feed my Pio 737 DVD directly into the component input on the display. What's the best way of feeding Sky into the box? RGB scart into an S video converter and then 4 pin DIN, or RGB scart into an RGB to Plasma VGA and then 15 pin D sub? I suppose it boils down to the old RGB vs S video argument right?
    I originally planned to buy an iScan Ultra but mixed reviews here and lip sync issues have put me off.

    Cheers

    Martyn
     
  2. Loafer316

    Loafer316
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    I think the general opinion might be to go for the RGB to VGA...preferably from JS Tech....said to give a very slight better pic than the componant.

    HTH
     
  3. briandzo

    briandzo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Newbury , Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would definately go the VGA route...
    keeping your sky signal at its source best (RGB) is the only route.

    As for the iscan ultra. it's a great product.
    This definately improves the sky signal.
    Those that say it doesn't clearly havent set there screens
    up correctly, all arnt aware of what they are actually looking for
    in picture improvement.

    Having worked in the Pro end of broadcasting i can see the
    difference and wouldnt switch back.

    There are failings to consider though.
    occasionally you do get frame drop off, which is annoying.
    and also on ocassion you can get lip sync issues.
    but these are remote and dont prove to be a major problem.

    you could also feed your dvd component into the iscan
    and have progresive dvd display too.
    the iscan also has a VGA i/p.
    i would advise reading the online manual first though.
    if you do intend to purchase.


    The benefits out way the negatives.
     
  4. miniman

    miniman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    567
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +7
    I bought the Iscan to go with my 503 mxe, but I'm waiting for my scart to rgb converter, I have sky connected by composite through the iscan and already it give a better picture than I had on my hde through a scart. I just can't wait to try it with the js converter.
     
  5. briandzo

    briandzo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Newbury , Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    miniman,

    the iscan doesn't take RGB as an input.

    the iscan has 2 component i/ps.

    confirm that you have ordered the JS scart to component box ?
     
  6. midlander

    midlander
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +6
    briandzo,

    I might go for the JStech RGBtoYUV and then run an all component system through my Denon 3801. If I go for the RGB to PlasmaVGA then I won't be able to use a scaler/de-interlacer in the future (most only have 15pin VGA pass through it seems). Am I right in thinking the 3801 won't add any delay to the picture because it's just passing the signal through? It doesn't process the video signal does it?

    I know the iScan will give me a better picture with $ky but i'm worried about the lip sync issues, my Denon is the older 3801 and I can't afford a 3803 (with built in audio delay) for the time being.

    Cheers

    Martyn
     
  7. miniman

    miniman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    567
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +7
    Briandzo, sorry had too much to drink last night, I have ordered scart to yuv(from joe at tmf) and I can't wait to try it out.
    I'm still playing with the ultra got it out putting through a cheap d sub lead at the moment, what settings are you running for your dvd on the ultra?

    p.s I haven't found any problems with the ultra and lip sync
     
  8. briandzo

    briandzo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Newbury , Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    midlander,

    your right to assume the 3801 is purely acting as a switching unit and will not add any video delay.

    As for audio delay i think this carries a panic flag within these forums. I have the 3803 which has audio delay features but i currently dont have any delay adjusted. i havn't noticed the problem to be a concern.

    There are on occasions a slight delay but never for more than a second or two. Therefore it isnt constant all the time, therefore doesnt warrant any tweaking.

    im assuming the processing within the iscan can sometimes get itself in a panic and therefore cause a video delay and therefore a subsequent audio delay(as audio comes direct via sky box).

    In conclusion, in my opinion there is no problem with lip sync to warrant the upgrade to a audio delay amp.
     
  9. briandzo

    briandzo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Newbury , Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    miniman

    my denon dvd player has pal progresive built in. The same chip as in the iscan.

    i therefore only use the iscan ultra for deinterlacing the sky signal.

    Both dvd and sky are component sources.

    As I only use 1 YUV feed to the plasma switched via the Amp.
    I therefore setup the DVD with a THX disk and adjusted the
    Plasma setting to suite.

    I therefore couldnt readjust the plasma when watching sky. So to set the skybox up i used the internal settings of the iscan. These are very good. brightness/contrast/saturation. and of course turning on the chroma filter.

    Play with these settings for days. As they take a while to get right. Adjust the brightness setting for the blacks within the picture and the contrast for the whites. The saturation is for the colour content. you may find reducing this to no colour temporary may aid setting the black/white levels.

    Brian.........
     
  10. miniman

    miniman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    567
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks for your help once again, you were right about the iscan does make a difference I think I've managed to get a better picture from my 757ai through s-video and the iscan, than from component straight from the 757 to plasma. Can't wait to get the better leads i've ordered. Thanks again for your help, its nice to know there are still people out there willing to help you.
     

Share This Page

Loading...