1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SKY+ to Panasonic with RGBs..Problem?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by charker, Feb 5, 2005.

  1. charker

    charker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    I'm sure this will be a simple question for someone in the know...

    I have a Panasonic V7 plasma with the 2-slot combo (svideo, composite, component) blade.

    I have SKY+.

    Can I connect the SKY TV-SCART (with RGB) direct to my "blade"?

    I bought a cheap (just to test things) SCART-RGB on ebay for a tenner. It's not gold plated or anything but looks reasonable well made.

    It comes with 4 BNC (red, green, blue, yellow), 2-phono (red, white) and a 3.5mm stereo jack. Now even I can guess the phono and jack plugs are for sound so I don't care much about them. It was sold as an RGB->BNC scart lead.

    I connected the lead to the TV-SCART on SKY. I connected RGB BNC to the RGB connections on the blade and put the "yellow" (which I assume is composite sync) onto the HD connector. I actually tried the other "sync" connector too.

    I went into the plasma, switched from component to RGB. Went into the sub-menu to set the sync and tried Auto, G and VBS but nothing. "No signal is all I get". SKY+ is set to output RGB.

    If I connect an RGB scart between SKY+ and my DMR-E85 I can get a picture on the plasma through the Component sockets using a component lead from the E85 to the blade.

    Another issue seems to be though that the SKY picture RGB->E85->Component produces a "flickering" picture unless Progressive=off on the E85. What causes that I wonder?

    Any ideas?

    Cliff
     
  2. Roohster

    Roohster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,534
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +1,249
    I think the problem is that you're trying to put an RGB signal into a Component connection (you said that your board is comosite/s-video/component).

    Which model Panasonic is it? A PW7?
     
  3. charker

    charker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    I wish it were that simple

    It's a V7 plasma with a TY-42TM6Y which is switchable between Component and RGB.

    I can select RGB on the plasma so the blade supports it, I just don't get a signal. It works with Component from the E85 no problem, so the RGB from SKY into the E85 works. the E85 converts and passes this through, it converts the RGB to Component.

    I then dismantle all that and put a SCART to RGB between SKY and the plasma and I get nothing. Like all the wrong pins in the SCART are connected up!

    Cliff
     
  4. Roohster

    Roohster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,534
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +1,249
    Im a bit confused here - the board you are using is component. When you say it's 'switchable' do you mean the board or the screen?
    If you mean the screen, then you still need an RGB input board of some description, or use a JS RGB to VGA converter straight into the VGA socket.
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    charker the RGBHV board will take RGB+CS you will need a scart> 4BNC cable to try this, and switch Sync to CS.......
     
  6. charker

    charker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    roohster

    The board has 5 BNC connectors, RGB and 2 sync.

    When the board is fitted the plasma detects the board and the on-screen menu allows you to switch those 5 BNC between component (3 BNC, other 2 ignored) and RGB.

    When you select RGB you have 3 sync options:

    AUTO
    Green - sync on green
    VBS - sync on composite (whatever that means)

    I have a lead with 4 BNC, RGB and a yellow one. I assumed the yellow was sync and because it was yellow (the usual colour for composite) that I had a lead that supported sync on composite.

    Cliff
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    does it work cliff?
     
  8. charker

    charker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    hornydragon

    I sort of thought I had on of those. This is what I bought

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=5745522711

    It has 4 BNC. The question is the plasma allows Auto, G and VBS for sync options, but not CS as you suggest.

    Either one of the options is the same as CS and my lead is duff or I need to get a different lead.

    When connected on the SKY+ TV-SCART with RGB (which I know is working) I get "no signal" for every permutation I have tried.

    Very confusing.

    Cliff
     
  9. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    VBS should be sync on composite do you have dual slot board? if so try yellow lead to compoite on dual slot... using the JS RGB>VGA it will ork on either H&V sync or CS (combined Sync) suggesting that the JS box send H and V down both lines anyway but does filter the composite video info out, as far as i know, leaving just the syncs......
     
  10. charker

    charker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    hornydragon

    I tried that suggestion, putting the yellow lead on the video-in (composite) BNC on the blade but still nothing.

    I tried my DVD players SCART which also kicks out RGB but still no luck.

    I got a meter out and tested the connections:

    Red : 15,13
    Green : 11, 9
    Blue : 7,5
    Yellow : 20,18 (20 is composite in)
    White phono : 6,4
    Red phono : 2,4
    Jackplug (outer to inner) : 8,16,ground

    According to the Keene site (http://www.syncblaster.com/gtmfytv.htm#Scart) this seems right. I stuck a meter on a connected SCART and I get the expected .3v on the RGB connectors. I'm not sure I can measure the sync, the same test on the meter as I did for RGB produced nothing.

    I tried again on the SKY box and again nothing.

    I'm thinking the blade is broken now !

    Cliff
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    hmmmm i think the cable is wired wrong... dont quote me on this but pin 19 is composite video/Sync output on scart..... 20 is Video/sync input you want output from Sky not input into it.......
    from your keene link
     
  12. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    do you have an RCA>BNC cable or a an RCA>BNC adapter and a switchable scart adapter scart to 3 RCA (may have S-video as well) and use composite sync from VCR scart just to check the blade.....
     
  13. charker

    charker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Hornydragon

    According to the Plasma manual, the sync is set as follows:

    Auto: should pick either H&V or synchronized signal. H&V has preference
    on G : sync in green from G connector
    VBS : synchronized signal of composite sync input, input from HD BNC connector.

    In other words this combined composite sync should be input on the HD (horiz sync) BNC.

    The only other thing is whether the SKY+ box or the Panasonic DVD player kick out a sync signal on pin 20. That is the normal way according to Keene site.

    Cliff
     
  14. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    hmm Composit to HD should be fine mate its the pin 19 pin 20 thing.....
    http://www.acl.co.uk/pinouts.htm sky will output Sync (composite as it is needed for all RGB scarts connections mate..)
     
  15. charker

    charker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Hornydragon

    I spotted the 19/20 pin thing too. I can't get into this lead to swap over without making a mess.

    Also all the audio pins are "in" pins as well. This is an odd lead really. It is an "in" RGB SCART and I need an "out".

    Now where is that stanley knife and soldering iron....

    Cliff
     
  16. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    perhaps the lead is designed for RGB+Sync (from god knows what) to Scart ona TV? looks that way mate............. does the scart end not screw off and unclip its only one wire that needs moving..
     
  17. charker

    charker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Hornydragon

    Sorted. It was an "in" lead and now it's an "out" and now it works!

    Picture less fuzzey on SKY program guide so it must be better!

    thanks for your time, I just needed prompting to look into things

    Cliff
     
  18. charker

    charker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Hornydragon

    It looked like it was going to be a pain, but it did "unclip". I also moved the audio pins as well. Now I have sound...

    thanks again

    Cliff
     
  19. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    excellent, didnt think of physically moving the pins mate, will have to remember that one
     
  20. charker

    charker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Hornydragon

    When I say "moved the pins" I meant re-soldered. Damn tricky this English language, so open to interpretation!

    Have you ever tried physically moving pins in a SCART, damn fiddly I'll tell you, 'orrid little clips that are only meant to be inserted once which break off if you try to pull them out or bend them out of the way!

    Anyway I now have a better SKY+ and DVD picture. I stuck the RGB lead from E85 to plasma and put a fully wired SCART between SKY and E85.

    Now I have to save up for a nice iScan HD+ to get the best out of all these pixels on a 50" screen.

    As an aside have you ever come across Clicktronic cables from this lot

    http://stores.ebay.de/MOSTWANTED-PRODUCTS-SHOP_W0QQssPageNameZVIStoreHeaderLinksQQtZkm

    I bought a extremely well made fully wired shielded SCART-SCART for about £12 (with postage from Germany). All pins gold, surround was solid metal (weighs a ton) and the cable was flat-ribbon and only 75cm which makes things so tidy when you stack things. They do SCART-RGB but they are phono and only 3 of them, so I think I will contact them and ask how they work!

    Cliff
     
  21. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  22. charker

    charker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Yes, very similar except the plugs are even more rounded and chunky and solid aluminium or something.

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI....5&ed=1109424318000&ssPageName=ADME:B:EOT:UK:3

    I have bought many SCART to 6 phono, type connectors that look like the plugs are metal but they are silver plastic with gold connectors and they were not cheap, over £30. This was £8.40 + £6 postage making it a bargain. It's the best lead I have ever bought for construction quality, and less than a tenner without postage.

    If you bundle up orders they recalc the postage to save money and they arrive in less than 5 working days from Germany. I think they may get more orders from me in the future.

    Cliff
     

Share This Page

Loading...