Sky+ To Laptop To Record Onto Dvd's

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Xstyle, Jul 5, 2005.

  1. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
    SKY+ TO LAPTOP TO RECORD ONTO DVD'S

    What is required??

    (I'll prob go for something like this:
    Sony Vaio VGNFS295VP.CEK

    THANKS,
    Xstyle
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    You need some sort of video/audio grabbing facilty. There's no data output from Sky+ boxes.
     
  3. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,930
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +89
    As Nick says and you'll also need a 'TV in' on the laptop either built in or via a USB device.

    Depending on the 'TV in' you can then connect the SKy+ to the laptop via s-video or RF coax. Play the programme you want to record on the Sky+ box and record the same on the laptop.

    John
     
  4. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
  5. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,930
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +89
    Make of the TV is unimportant.

    If you get a TV card or USB device for the laptop it will have a standard RF in and, possibly, an svideo in as well - it's one of thes inputs you need to connect the Sky+ box to.

    John
     
  6. bobbradshaw1

    bobbradshaw1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could anybody please tell me if it's ok to use single screened coaxial cable for digital tv.
     
  7. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Best to use cable with a foil screen as well as the copper braid.
     
  8. petecowie

    petecowie
    R.I.P.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    871
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +43
    don't want to state the obvious here (but I'm going to anyway) have you thought about going the domestic dvd recorder route, it's a whole lot easier! and you can pick one up for ~£100
     
  9. bobbradshaw1

    bobbradshaw1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you Nick.Much appreciated
     
  10. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
    Which one? Show me.

    My laptop will be docked next to the plasma and AV kit anyway...
    so I can wirelessy surf the net etc
    ...and thought save the money for DVD Recorder and use the laptop to do it.

    How much and where from please??


    THANKS
     
  11. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
    SONY VIAO FS295VP Laptop
    https://secure.sell247.com/svcdirect/product_detail.asp?id=15963507

    Product Features:

    Mobile Intel Pentium M Processor 740 1.73 GHz

    512MB (1 x 512MB) DDR SDRAM PC2700/DDR333
    (upgradable to maximum 1GB)

    80GB Hard Disk Drive (Ultra ATA/100)

    X-black 15.4" TFT screen, 1280x800 resolution (WXGA)

    Built-in Double Layer DVD±RW Drive
    8x DVD-ROM, 8x DVD-R/+R, 4x DVD-RW/+RW/+R DL reading speed
    Up to 4x DVD-RW/+RW, 8x DVD-R/+R, 2.4x DVD+R DL writing speed
    24x CD-ROM, 20x CD-RW reading speed
    Up to 24x CD-R, 10x CD-RW writing speed

    Graphics NVIDIA GeForce Go 6200 with TurboCache, with 128MB RAM
    Intel High Definition Audio compatible with Direct Sound 3D compatibility

    Network: Ethernet 10BASE-T/100BASE-TX (RJ-45)
    Built-in V.92/V.90 (56kbps) data/fax modem (RJ-11)
    Wireless LAN 802.11b/g maximum 54Mbps (g)

    Microsoft Windows XP Professional Edition with Service Pack 2

    Interfaces include Port Replicator (docking station), i.Link FireWire
    3 x USB 2.0 (High-speed/Full-speed/Low-speed) ports
    Memory Stick slot (Standard, Duo)
    PC Card slot (Type I & II and CardBus support)
    VGA Monitor, external speakers or headphones, microphone connector, DC in

    Powered by VGP-BPS2A Lithium-Ion battery
    Battery life approx. 2 hrs 10 min

    Measures (WxHxD) 364 x 25.4 - 35.9 x 264.5mm
    Weighs 2.85kg with standard battery


    Supplied Accessories:
    VGP-BPLA standard battery, VGP-AC19V10 AC Adapter, AC Power Cord
     
  12. petecowie

    petecowie
    R.I.P.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    871
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +43
  13. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,930
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +89
    Loads of places and loads of prices...

    Do search on Google for 'usb TV tuner' and you'll get over 1 million hits.

    John
     
  14. ysr

    ysr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am currently transferring programmmes off Sky+ using a Hauppage WIN TV USB2, connected to a Sony Vaio R600HMP. This is giving excellent results when burning to DVD.

    Kind regards

    YSR
     
  15. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
    http://www.pixmania.co.uk/uk/uk/110014/art/hauppauge/wintv-usb2-589-usb-2-0-tv.html

    Can you record from your Sky Planner, programmes that are already recorded onto your Sky+ ??

    And there is no time limit to your recording?

    Also, how does it connect to the Sky+ box??
    (I take it that this USB device sits in the link between Sky & the Laptop)
     
  16. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,930
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +89
    You can play a recording back on the Sky+ box and this will be output via the RF2 output on the Sky+ box so if this is connected to the TV card, you can record it - you have to keep playing it on the Sky+ box to be able to record on the PC.

    John
     
  17. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
    Aah right ... so its the entire duration of the programme (again).

    If you want it quicker, other option would be DVD recorder, which would be almost instant??

    My RF2 will be going upstairs to TV's ... (or was that RF1)?
     
  18. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,930
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +89
    Even if you use the Copy function in the planner to record onto DVD, AFAIK, the programme still has to be played in full...

    John
     
  19. Maff et1

    Maff et1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Recording from Sky+ always has to work in real time. The Sky+ plays the programme and the recorder (vhs, dvd, computer etc.) has to capture the anglogue signal and record it. As far as the recorder is concerned it's just like a live TV signal.
     
  20. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
    so there's no point in getting a dvd recorder then!

    Think a USB TV thing is the way to go...
     
  21. ysr

    ysr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Xstyle

    The adapter I am using is infact the WINTV-PVR USB2. This allows recordings to be made in MPEG2. I tend to burn to DVD using a maximum of 2 hours as this gives the best picture quality. However the limit to the amount you can copy to your PC depends on the capacity of your PC's Hard Drive. The Hauppage comes with Ulead video editing software which can be used to edit out the ads.


    The adapter is connected to SKY+ using the S Video connection for Video and phono connectors for sound, as again this will give a better picture quality than RF or composite conections.

    Kind Regards

    YSR
     
  22. vileda

    vileda
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +1
    Is there no way to take the HDD out and place it into a PC to copy the programmes over thus bypassing the playback process????
     
  23. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,930
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +89
    No, the recording on the HD is encrypted and therefore no use outside of the Sky+ box itself.

    John
     
  24. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
  25. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
  26. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
  27. blindlemon

    blindlemon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you want to extract recordings directly from your PVR to your PC then you really need a TiVo with a network card :)
     
  28. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
    I will also use the Hauppauge to record from my camcorder to DVD...somehow
     
  29. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
    (Thinking out aloud) :rolleyes:

    Laptop connections in the AV cabinet:
    1. WinTV PVR USB 2; connected to Sky+ (copy programmes on DVD)
    2. VGA cable; connected to Pioneer plasma's media box (use PC on big screen)
    3. USB device for wireless keyboard & mouse (sit on my sofa from afar)
    4. USB cradle for Digital Camera
    5. A mini-DV Camcorder will also connect to edit & burn tapes onto DVD

    Power Sockets in AV Cabinet:
    6. Laptop Power lead/cable
    7. Digital Camera Power lead/cable
    8. Digital Camcorder Power lead/cable

    I think it makes sense for me to get a USB hub which will be easier to plug/unplug into the laptop.

    Can you see any other things /ideas / possible pitfalls I need to consider??
    :confused:

    (See my signature link for how my AV set-up will be)
     
  30. Maff et1

    Maff et1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    A tivo will be doing exactly the same analogue to digial conversion as something link a WinTV PVR, however if you can connect via RGB scart the quality may be better, but good enough to justify the extra cost?

    For that type of route I'd go with a standalone DVD recorder, record onto RW if you want to edit on the PC.
     

Share This Page

Loading...