1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky + , Tivo are they worth it?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by JaseyJay, Feb 1, 2003.

1. JaseyJay

JaseyJay

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

I am new to this part of the forum so apologies if my questions are nonsense.

Basically I am interested in recording a whole series of Sky programmes such as 24 onto a hard drive for viewing when I want.

1. Is Sky + or Tivo my only options?
    2. How many hours can I store on a standard box?
    3. Are there any problems with these units
    4. Are they worth the money?
    5. Is there anything better coming out in the near future?

Any other info you can supply would be appreciated.

JJ

2. Rasczak

Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,261
    No - there are HDD DVD Recorder combos such as the Panasonic HS2 ot Toshiba RX3, HDD/SVHS Combos (such as the JVC models) or the Thompson DVD Player/HDD Recorder combo.

On Sky+ it's about 20 hours (although you can put a larger HDD in increasing the space to upto 60 hours). Tivo (as far as I know as I don't own one) allows you to vary the recording quality so the amount of time on the HDD will vary according to your settings.

I've used Sky+ now for eight months and it's been flawless. Some people have had endings chopped off and failed recordings but, AFAIK these have been rectified in software updates.

Only you can anwser that!

Units with larger Hard Drives - but if you wait for this you'll wait forever! There will ALWAYS be something better just around the corner!

3. mjn

mjn
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,938
    ah...but.....these will not automatically record all episodes of a series, like a TIVO or SKY+

4. sparkz

sparkz
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings: