sky+ through video avr amp

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Daddy k, Nov 5, 2005.

  1. Daddy k

    Daddy k

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    9,083
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    coventry
    Ratings:
    +1,351
    just wondering will i get any pic improvement outputting sky+ thru s video to my harmon kardon avr amp and allowing that to convert to component to then feed to my plasma, over my current setup rgb scart????

    cheers guys
     
  2. Welwynnick

    Welwynnick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,285
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Welwyn, Herts
    Ratings:
    +943
    I would have thought that the S-video connection to the AVR would be the bottleneck on quality. Once information is lost, it cannot be recovered again. RGB scart is pretty much the preferred connection. An SDI interface may be the only possible improvement, but at great cost.

    Nick
     
  3. Phantom Phixer

    Phantom Phixer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    There should not be any improvement. You are starting with an s-video signal and you cannot improve on the quality of the original. You will still have an s-video quality signal.
     
  4. Daddy k

    Daddy k

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    9,083
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    coventry
    Ratings:
    +1,351
    cheers guys!

    ill just run the digi audio out to it then and stick to the rgb scart
     
  5. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +272
    I'm doing exactly that with my Yamaha amp, and I am very pleased with the result.
     
  6. SeanT

    SeanT
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +368
    yep, the s-video output from the Sky+ box is very good, and feeds a scaler or AV amp (or both in my case) very well :)
     
  7. Daddy k

    Daddy k

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    9,083
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    coventry
    Ratings:
    +1,351

    well what i might do if it will work??
    is keep my current rgb scart setup! and obviously toslink cable to amp
    but also have an s-vid connection to amp. and then switch whenever i want.
    will that work or will i need to set the output in options to something different?

    my connection plans will be:

    sky+ svideo & toslink to avr amp rgb scart to plasma
    xbox: component & digital coax to amp
    dvd player: component & toslink to amp

    amp: component to plasma & s video to plasma (on screen setup for avr thru s video only, so it will only be used for setting up n tweaking)

    any improvements you can think of cabling wise?
     
  8. getdownmonkeyma

    getdownmonkeyma
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thank the Lord I have found this thread!. I have to get a replacement Scart (too short) and have been advised to use s-video and digital out from the sky+ box straight into the TV. Will this improve the quality of the picture signal?.

    PS

    The TV is LCD, will an s-video cable highlight the shortcomings of sky too much?.
     
  9. Daddy k

    Daddy k

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    9,083
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    coventry
    Ratings:
    +1,351
    well im under the impresion its worse!
    but i am looking into the quality of s video then letting the avr amp convert it to component.

    but what i can also do is run it out of avr amp via s video cable too. so i will post my findings when im done!

    im hoping nick can jump on and give his report as i thinks hes using s video at mo?
     
  10. Tosty

    Tosty
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Guernsey
    Ratings:
    +0
    S-video is certainly a downgrade in picture quality compared to RGB. Not much, granted, but some. I would run a good scart into your telly, then connect sky+ optical to the amp. An alternative would be to buy a JS RGB to component converter box (£140) and then you can run the RGB signal into the amp and onwards to the screen. Assuming you have the 2nd scart free on your sky+, you can even run a 2nd RGB device into that, thus daisychaining the devices and getting converted to component. Having said that, I don't think you will actually get a better picture by converting to component, unless your amp does some fancy upscaling like DCDi by Faroudja.
     

Share This Page

Loading...