SKY+ Tekephone connection?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by uk_jih, Sep 24, 2003.

  1. uk_jih

    uk_jih
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Do you have to have a SKY+ box connected to the telephone line?
     
  2. Fairzo

    Fairzo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, it was a condition of the contract. Having said that I haven't had the mirror sub box connected for some time due to an oversight and recently had a letter from $ky advising me of my 'obligations'. Still, I don't use Box Office or Active and it doesn't really bother me if phonelines are connected.
     
  3. monkeyleader

    monkeyleader
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +90
    so how can they tell if your not .. i had an engineer visit the other day and give me the third degree about not having mine conneced .. it is now - for the moment :)
     
  4. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +715
    Officially you are not holding to the contract if you got a free or subsidised box.
    Therefore you could be billed for the subsidy part !
    $ky pay particular attention to mirror subs as they want to prevent them in reality being used by non-subscribers or even people abroad.

    Chris Muriel.
     
  5. Too Tall

    Too Tall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    487
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +5
    As long as you're out of contract (I've had Sky+ for 2 years) then it is no problem. I've not had mine connected to a phone line for over a year. I had an engieer in the other week because of a problem with the box and he needed to connect the line to do something to the box, but then proptly unconnected it afterwards, saying it was my choice not to connect it as I was out of contract.

    Too Tall.
     
  6. Fairzo

    Fairzo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    I suspect circumstances are different with the mirror subscription, i.e. phone lines have to be connected to qualify for the second sub discount.
     
  7. alistair

    alistair
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine was plugged in when installed but taken out as part of an install. Has never been put back. Don't use box office so I don't miss it. Only had it 3 months, sky haven't said anything either.........yet!
     
  8. wod

    wod
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    i've had sky for ages and never plugged it in from the start. i wouldn't worry
     
  9. savage

    savage
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have Sky+ had it since it came out and a mirror sub .

    I have had some letters about not connecting the second Box to phone line and recieved my final warning last month and they have given me a month (1 week to go ) to connect it which I am not doing .

    I`d rather not have it im fed up with the wires I don`t mind 1 box being connected which I have done but not the second .

    so looks like ill keep the Sky+ but the second box will just be freeview as im not connecting it .

    I had no problem with the money but fed up with stuff connected to my phoneline
     
  10. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979

    Just make sure that SKY are going to deactivate the mirror card and not just bill you a full subscription on it which they are entitled if you are still within the minimum term.
     
  11. savage

    savage
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers Starburst Again .

    Ill find out mate
     
  12. uk_jih

    uk_jih
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I now have SKY+ and it is not connected to a telephone.

    As I have had the SKY+ box for over a year, I said that SKY could not force me to connect it.

    As long as I don't have a mirror subscription then this is OK.
     
  13. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    They *may* charge you for the equipment as you are in breach of contract...
     

Share This Page

Loading...