Sky+ stutter / stop

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by turbohat, Sep 18, 2007.

  1. turbohat

    turbohat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Had my (Amstrad) Sky+ box for a couple of weeks.
    Been working flawlessly until today.
    Watched last weeks Heroes and had the audio stutter twice and one time lost lip sync briefly.
    Later was watching a move I recorded and the audio stuttered and the playback stopped. If I FFed the picture would 'snap back' to where the stutter was until I stopped playback completed and exited to the EPG. It would then play but the stutter was in the same place.
    Is the box knackered (so soon after the red ring of death on my 360 would truly depress me!)
     
  2. skytecbvmo

    skytecbvmo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +55
    Sounds like your hdd is on the way out.
     
  3. FRANTIC FRANC

    FRANTIC FRANC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +86
    What channel was the movie on out of interest... truemovies?

    Cheers, Franc
     
  4. turbohat

    turbohat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    It was on Sky Movies and the TV show was Heroes from BBC2

    Will keep my eye on it see if it dies :-(

    Only 2 weeks old - boo!
     
  5. wafc

    wafc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Messages:
    705
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Wigan
    Ratings:
    +62
    I also have similar problems with sound & picture skipping on both of my Amstrad PVR3's, they are also only around 2 weeks old!

    It seems that quite a few people are having these issues. I dont really want to have the boxes replaced as I may end up with something worse. I can't believe that the box is knackered either as it is happening on both of them, only on recorded/Anytime progs.

    Does anyone know if a future software update from Sky could resolve this audio/picture skipping issue on recored progs?
     
  6. spickee

    spickee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MK
    Ratings:
    +5
    Got the same problem, my Amstrad Sky+ box was replaced by an engineer about three months ago and we are getting stuttering on loads of channels.

    Signal strength and quality is about 90% on both lnbs, time to call sky methinks.
     
  7. FRANTIC FRANC

    FRANTIC FRANC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +86

Share This Page

Loading...