Sky store

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by dUnKle, Feb 22, 2013.

  1. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    15,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,892
    Over the past few weeks and months the other half and I have purchased a fair few blu rays which where pretty much a let down and as such waste of cash

    So we are considering using the sky store
    We have everything from sky including home phone and Internet
    How though do we access sky store ? Does it have to be via a phone cable ? Would need a 20m cable if so !
    Can it not be made to work via the broadband connection ?
     
  2. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    15,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,892
    I can't get it to work
    I just get message saying ensure that an operating telephone line is connected
    I can use the library and catch up via broadband but not sky store.
     
  3. Tight Git

    Tight Git
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,331
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +597
    Surely the best way to avoid wasting money is to be more selective in your purchases, or you'll go down the same road with Sky Store as you have been with Blu-rays! :)
     
  4. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897
    Wrong!!

    A lot of stuff in the Sky Store is pre-loaded, via satellite, a la Anytime.

    A working telephone connection is required for sending back the billing information, stored on the card, just like Box Office and other PPV events.
     
  5. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,767
    OK - I never pay Sky more than I have to so these things and their names are outside of my experience.
    My post deleted.
     
  6. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897
    And just screwed it up for anyone trying to follow the thread, AGAIN!!:lesson:
     
  7. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    15,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,892
    Cheers
    Was confused as the advert on sky says something along the lines of "use our wireless connection option"
     
  8. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,767
    That refers to connection to the router, for downloading things from the internet, not from the satellite, which can be done either by ethernet cable or by Sky's wireless device, or other wireless devices.
    The normal telephone connection is for other things, as S N said.
     
  9. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,800
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +558
    Hi Duncan.

    I know you will already know most of this. But in case it helps others.

    The phone line is there to allow "interactive services" and to send usage billing information back to SKY. They also use it as a way to verify if a multi room box is being used at the correct address. No film content is actually sent via the phone line etc.

    You have three options for SKY Box Office/SKY Store. (assuming nothing has change lately)
    One, is to view live at the preset times. You select the film the channel and the time. After a few minutes, you will be asked for your pin to carry on watching. Sky used to allow a certain amount of credit even if the phone line wasn't connected at that moment. Not sure if that is still the case.
    Two, is to watch pre recorded films that are stored on SKY's section of the boxes hard drive. This gives you the choice of when to watch it. Again the phone line needs to be connected to verify and send charges back to SKY. The pin needs to be entered immediately before any content plays back. After a certain time, the film will disappear off the option list.
    Three, is to download the film when you want. This is "on demand", and includes a wide range of content. Even old films are chargeable. You need to have the box connected to the internet and phone line. The Internet is used to download, and the phone to verify and send back charge information.
    So for the time being (until they use IP information). Get that phone connected. Maybe consider a wireless phone sender unit.

    Again, this is far as i know. Things change fast so not 100% certain!
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2013
  10. Max Skylon

    Max Skylon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    End of the pier
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Folks,

    Can a wireless phone sender and Sky broadband wireless device be used together on the same Sky+HD box ? Telephone socket and router are in hall and wooden floors prevent hardwireing. Any help appreciated.

    Regards Max
     
  11. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897
    Don't see why not.........
     
  12. simon194

    simon194
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,795
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +218
    Which will never happen because it's too easy to spoof IP addresses. :)
     
  13. paul_h

    paul_h
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +8
    in the summer sky are releasing thier hd+ box with wifi built in. They are also working on getting rid of the phone line side of things so that the box uses the router to do things like multi room box checks and ppv. But they are having a few problems with that side of it at the moment.
     
  14. Paul_McG

    Paul_McG
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    235
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Godmanchester, Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +28
    I suspect they are having more than a few problems if they want to use TCP/IP to validate multiroom and PPV. IP addresses are dynamic, and may not change often but they do change. Every time your external IP changed, you would have to phone Sky. IP addresses are also very easy to spoof, and people could run a VPN server from their main account home and connect clients to it from anywhere. I suspect Sky will abandon that idea quite quickly.
     
  15. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897
    Exactly!! :thumbsup:

    Though it does raise the question of how do Sky measure/monitor broadband useage if not by using MAC addresses - which can be changed by changing modem/router?
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2013

Share This Page

Loading...