Sky Sports 2 HD

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by game over, Aug 4, 2006.

  1. game over

    game over

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    :D Yey it's finally turned up and even better for us MAN U Fans the Amsterdam cup is on it tonight and tomorrow :clap:
     
  2. RichardBoult

    RichardBoult
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    671
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    I spotted this this morning too...when did it start broadcasting!?
     
  3. Sparky101

    Sparky101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    You do realise that the Amsterdam tournament is not actually in HD? Just because it's on Sky Sports HD2 don't mean it's in HD. Obviously the Dutch aren't covering it in HD and Sky either couldn't or wouldn't send their HD OB trucks over there.
     
  4. Tuscan

    Tuscan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    443
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +20
    So near, yet so far !!!

    Just because there is a new HD channel, doesn't mean more HD programs.

    It just means Sky HD subscribers think they are getting better value for their hard earned £10.
     
  5. game over

    game over

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dohhhhh must admit i didnt check the info for the "rare" hd logo !!!!
    Gutted i am.
     
  6. Pat_C

    Pat_C
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,827
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +219
    There seems to be even less HD material on SS HD2 than there is on SS HD1.
     
  7. mstodge

    mstodge
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +5
    It just means Sky HD subscribers think they are getting better value for their hard earned £10.


    Good point Tuscan.
     
  8. IanMerseyside

    IanMerseyside
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually, we are getting better value for money. For instance, tomorrow there is Test Cricket on HD1 whilst HD2 is showing the Championship football. Without the extra HD channel we wouldn't have been able to watch the football in HD. Give Sky credit when it's due :thumbsup:
     
  9. Philius

    Philius
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southend-on-Sea
    Ratings:
    +20

    Hehe... that's why I did a deal with Sky... I pay the extra for HD £10 so they can see the return on investment and therefore bring new content to the masses, but I got them to knock 25% off my standard sub. I was at full package so thats a £10 saving each month hence my SkyHD costs me nothing but the upgrade price.

    Sky really are quite reasonable when you speak to them.:cool:
     
  10. game over

    game over

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Will there be a Prem Plus HD Channel as well? as i know Prem Plus is in HD or do you think they will reuse a SP HD1/2
     
  11. hdsport

    hdsport
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,761
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +408
    I've had my confirmation through the post and a little fixtures leaflet, that states the games will be on 756 (SBOHD1)
     
  12. youcrazyboy

    youcrazyboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    But Chelsea V Celtic (delayed coverage, not Live) on Wednesday night 10pm is in HD on SSHD1! I guess cause it's at Stalingrad bridge. Tim Lovejoy :boring: is the anchor, that'll be impartial..... :thumbsdow
     
  13. micheal9009

    micheal9009
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    just watching the game between leicster and luton and the quality is much better than sd but not as good as BBC HD's coverage of the world cup.
     
  14. Ewoody

    Ewoody
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Blackburn
    Ratings:
    +322
    I feel HD football is at its best under floodlight, especially at the world cup.
    Today's HD Championship match is a big leap in picture quality compared to SD on Sky Sports 2 though.
     
  15. Abbeygoo

    Abbeygoo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    25,029
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +10,183
    You forgot the 'W' :rotfl:

    Only kidding, Lovejoy is a legend. Do you reckon we'll have Soccer AM in HD - no need really, I know but would be quality seeing Hells Bells in all her HD glory :smashin:
     
  16. ghost5

    ghost5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Messages:
    614
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Atherton / Manchester
    Ratings:
    +115
    Congrats to Manchester United who filled me with pride when the youngsters beat Ajax 1 - 0 to win the tournament....

    I havent yet got my HD TV or HD subsription.

    All though it wasn't filmed in HD, was it upscalled to HD and was it better quality than the broadcast on Sky Sports 2?



    On another note, I don't exactly understand how HD channles are broadcasted. Why is there a seperate channel for each HD channel? I find it annoying to think that I will have to remember different channel numbers for the HD channels (Sports 1&2, Prep +, Sky 1, Movies (9&10).
    Would it not of been possible to do something like broadcasting them on the same channel as the SD broadcasts and maybe use the yellow button (that has no use) to switch between SD & HD?

    Thanks Chris
     
  17. youcrazyboy

    youcrazyboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    LOL:rotfl: Very funny! I guess you need to havea sense of humour being a City fan:eek: I support the good Manchester team (NO not Port...). I really thought Luton game was pants. I think the floodlight thang will be a factor, anyone know if CHapions League will be in HD? DOes ITV :thumbsdow still have half games and will they launch ITV HD on Sky platform?
     
  18. Mike_CA

    Mike_CA
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    622
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +54
    All channel numbers on a SAT box are completely artificial. When the SAT box is initialized, a map associates SAT box channel numbers to specific channels on the different transponders. HD and SD channels are usually on different transponders but are always on different channels. Therefore it would be possible to have any transponder channel indicate any SAT box channel number. Currently SAT/cable box manufacturers display the channel numbers from 1-999 but could have done it anyway they wanted. They could have done what you suggested by displaying the same channel number for both the SD and HD channel and have a key on the remote to switch back and forth or possibly develop a box which indicates a letter followed by a channel number such as C05 (Children 05), S07 (Sports 07), M03 (Movie 03), etc. and created a remote that allowed switching between the different types.
     
  19. hdsport

    hdsport
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,761
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +408
    I doubt it they've only just gone 16:9 last season...would be pretty cool Helen and the Soccerettes!
     

Share This Page

Loading...