1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SKY+ Software Updated

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Starburst, Jul 29, 2002.

  1. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Woohoo,

    Well in the grand scheme of things it's nothing earth shattering like two channel recording but at least it now has a manual timer and the padding amount can be varied.

    Does it make me feel any better abut paying the £10 subscription?
    Hell No :)
     
  2. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,764
    does this mean that you are not limited to recording full programs ?
     
  3. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Well I was experimenting recording 5 min segments across various channels, they all recorded ok.
    So yes it acts just like a basic VCR timer, manually input the start and stop times and ignoring the EPG data.

    More details at the DS site........DS
     
  4. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,331
    good news - another few years and it may be as good as TIVO
     
  5. asimm

    asimm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +75
    Stupid question alert:
    Have had Sky + for a bit (about 2-3 months) and have not noticed any software updates, is this because I do not have the phone line connected?
     
  6. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27
    No.
     
  7. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27
    I have two Tivos, Skyplus+ and a hope you are being Stuart Wright style ironic.
    If Tivo is so good why is everyone dumping it?
    Tivo is good but it isn't Skyplus+ good.
     
  8. squid

    squid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    the big uk
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you sure you are looking in the right place??

    The manual recording should be under 6 in the service menu and the buffer is is in the sky+ setup menu in services.

    The only way i found out it was there was when i read this thread on the forum and had a look for it . i would have expected them to put these sort of functions in the Sky+ planner, just like other channels should be in the tv guide if you ask me rather than in the service menu
     
  9. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    I must be psychic because I KNEW somebody would say that:)
     
  10. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    The last software update was October last year so your SKY+ already had that when you bought it and this update was sent in the early hours of July 29th.
    As squid mentions the new timer isn't exactly where you would think it should be.
     
  11. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,764
    This seems like very good news to me - I'm running out of excuses not to go ahead with sky+ now !
    Are there any problems or pitfalls I should know about ?
     
  12. jar

    jar
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had intended buying a Sky+ box from Comet today.

    They have it in stock so presumably it has an out-of-date software build.

    Once installed, will it auto update to the current version or do I have to wait until Sky sends the next software update?

    John
     
  13. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,331

    Its not as good as TIVO :)

    Seriously in time it may be - but for now TIVO is the superior HDD recorder

    The SKY+ benefit of being able to record one channel whilst watching another is not something I am bothered about - I use TIVO as a personal TV system - whilst im watching something its recorded its nearly always recording something else and in 12 months of owning it I have never missed anything

    I guess that its a shame that SKY+ will be the winner but hey thats the money mens decision
     
  14. Xeonic

    Xeonic
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This was said once before in this thread, and the only point in repeating it seems to start a "tivo v sky+" nonsensical debate. As they say in the US "enough already!!"

    Now back to the point of the thread...

    I've had sky+ for about a year, does exactly what it says on the (silver) tin, record quality from disk is indistinguisable from OTA, since it just stores the mpeg2 stream from the sat without any additional encoding.

    Unofficially the internal 40gbHD can be upgraded to 100Gb, some forum members have done this, although I have not. This invalidates the warranty, requires a mininal amount of technical knowledge, and only certain disks work.

    At the start there were a few teething problems, the £10/mnth is stupid and some of the initial batch used to "whine", but with automatic software updates the problems seem to have gone now, and I just use it. In fact, thanks StarBurst, 'cos when I saw the channel was '998' one morning (sign of an overnight automatic reboot), I wondered why it had gone off. It was the manual recording update! :rolleyes:

    As for the tivo, I haven't got one but yeah, from spec much of a muchness vs sky+ so it's up to the consumer. (PC v Mac, DD5.1 v DTS. ......) Unless you want full hard disk recording of (albeit limited) widescreen programs with the DD5.1 stream intact... :p
     
  15. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,331
    yeah but its still noot as good as TIVO :D
     
  16. nfordenfield

    nfordenfield
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Messages:
    625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well plugged mine into the phone line last night and hey presto today have the manual recording thing.

    Just need to work out why we needed it?

    Was there anyting else that was improved?

    The rumoured record both and rewind with pause sounds better.

    Otherwise you just have to record everything........................

    Nathan
     
  17. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Manual timer means you can record a 90 minute film which is in a two hour EPG slot or when recording back to back programs on a single (Red Dwarf Marathon etc) and don't want to enter 6 seperate Planner entries and then have to access the planner every 30 minuted during the playback.
    The more extensive padding options give you some control over the channels that do not dynamically update the EPG, if this is a regular thing on a program you watch then just use the manual timer or add more padding.

    There is a low battery remote warning, which is bloody annoying!
    I had to buy new batteries to get rid of the on screen banner:(

    Dual recording is on the cards, hopefully it will be in the next update which might be before the end of the year but you never know.
     
  18. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27
    I agree with Xeonic that enough already with Tivo vs Skyplus+ nonsensical debate.
    DuncanWardle is entitled to his opinion, but I am surprised to hear he hasn't missed any events in the last year with his Tivo, the Tribune data is Tivos achilles heel, not surprising when they are sitting 5000 miles across the Atlantic.
    My Tivos are not as reliable at recording specific programmes as my Skyplus+. Which is why they are both used in a supporting role.
    Tivos are far better than using vcrs but it baffles me how Tivo owners express almost religious zeal for what is often a frustrating product to use. I'm the first to admit that Skyplus+ isn't perfect, but for recording specific events, with high quality picture and sound easily, it is ace.
    Anyway enough already.... :cool:
     
  19. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,535
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,008
    great news this..thanks chaps..:)
     
  20. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,331
    Have 32 Season passes and probably two to three times that on the sugestions menu and I have not missed ONE program - the schedules are always up to date ( well for what I want ) and have found TIVO to be a very profession and very user friendly product
     
  21. CLH

    CLH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    The whole TIVO v Sky+ debate is very tiresome. They are both awesome products.

    I opted for Sky+ because I have no aerial and relied purely on my digibox for TV.

    Since Sky+ I have been able to record one channel while watching another and ditch the VCR. One less piece of equipment under the TV and I record things I would not have even bothered with before.

    The new software is very good. I've set it up to record the Osbournes which has no series link.

    Once we get record two channels at once it'll be great.
     
  22. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,764
    It's sounds like Sky+ is good enough for me now ! I was very concerned that it could only record whole programs via the EPG - this new software update has made me very happy - it's time to give the old credit card a bashing I think.

    Let's not argue about Sky+ v's Tivo - it really is not needed. We all like to think that we have bought the best system so let's all agree that they are BOTH great !
     
  23. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27
    Excellent idea.:cool:
     
  24. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979

    There have been very strong rumours of an announcment today for a £100 cut in the price of SKY+ for retail customers.
    It's middle of the afternoon and still nothing but certainly worth waiting a few more days just in case:)
     
  25. nunew33

    nunew33
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Lytham St Annes, where people are put out to grass
    Ratings:
    +2
    Sky active/zone/shop last night was saying that the monthly subscription was £19 (checked ythis last night) ,ive seen it at £12 somewhere as well, so may be its a case of a subsidised drop in price against higher subscriptions.
     
  26. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,764
    Thanks for that - I'll hang on a couple of days
     
  27. Batey

    Batey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Since the sky + update I have noticed that my hard drive is now only 99% free when empty instead of the normal 100%. Is this because of the update ???. Also has anyone else noticed this with their sky + ???
     
  28. asimm

    asimm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +75
    A belated thanks for the replies to my mail about Sky + and the phone line. Have now found the manual record (agree it is not in the right place). Am finding that when I set up a weekly manual record it duplicates the recording of the programme exactly on the Sky + planner. Maybe I am doing something wrong.
    Off topic but I can't go without saying it. It's been I think either two years or more since I joined the forum, now on my 100th post, always found this forum very interesting and informative.
    Thanks a lot folks.
     
  29. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,535
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,008
    something that I have found to be annoying now is that when you watch a recorde programme on Sky+ when you press stop it no longer takes you back to the planner (so you can delete) it takes you to the last channel you watched. It's just a niggle but is frustrating..
    Also I got a letter from Sky+ last week saying subscriptions were increasing on Sept 1st..:( I'll be paying £69.00 for 2 Sky+ boxes and subscriptions..
     
  30. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Press the BACKUP key instead of the STOP key, that takes you back to the planner page.

    As for the increase it depends what you were paying before. SKY world+mirror+two SKY+ subs = £69.
    If that is your package then you must have been paying less, if it isn't then just ignore me:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...