Sky software problems

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by HMHB, Nov 2, 2002.

  1. HMHB

    HMHB
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,970
    I've spoken to Sky technical department today as I'm fed up of resetting my receiver every other day because of the "program listings unavailable" message.
    After having to endure the "switch off, make sure scart cables are secure blah blah blah" crap I finally got through to the girl that it was a problem that loads of people have got at the moment and it seems to have got worse since the last software update.
    I was then put through to someone who actually knew something about the system and she told me that they know it's a software problem and they are looking to fix it in the next release.
    Another problem I have just started getting is the slow movement through the channels on the program banner which sometimes doesn't move at all and other times skips through 2 at a time - she confirmed that this was also a software bug.

    Glad to see that our increased subscriptons are being put to good use :rolleyes:
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    SKY subscribers put two and two together pretty damn quick. Software update = rash of new bugs, a pity SKY felt the need to treat us like idiots and suggest every stupid gimmick to solve the problem even suggesting people pay £65 to have an engineer sent out when they knew it was software (Which they own and are responsible for) all along.
     
  3. HMHB

    HMHB
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,970
    I think they spend far too much time and effort (and our money) trying to get the interactive shopping part of the system done to the detriment of the part that I and most others are interested in - ie the program guide and usability. In other words they are more interested in making money out of the box rather than make it better for the users
     
  4. Lex

    Lex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +4
    Are you sure it isn't a weak signal problem? In my experience when your signal is degraded the 'listings' are the first things to disappear/slow down.

    Just a thought.
     
  5. Geezer

    Geezer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,813
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +25
    My signal level has never changed as far as i can see and get this problem all the time.
     
  6. HMHB

    HMHB
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,970
    No - I've checked my signal and it's ok. It's a problem that is very common since the last update.
    The sky guide is now unusable for me - I'd rather go back to the magazine so I can at least see what's on without having to reset and then wait ages while it pages through the listings - which are only ever going to be 7 days in advance anyway. This is totally useless if you go away for a fortnight

    Sorry about this but sky really wind me up by the way they treat their loyal customer
     
  7. alex f

    alex f
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2002
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Reading UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you go into the tv guide on sky and flick through all of the pages you will not have any problems with banner listings, it seems to download everything and sorts the problem out.
     
  8. HMHB

    HMHB
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,970
    Ok mate I'll give it a try
     
  9. Kearney

    Kearney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +4
    I've had the same problem for a while now my sky digibox is one of the first to come out (October 1998) and i thought my box was one the wane, but as sky have recognised the problem i look forward to the fix!
     

Share This Page

Loading...