1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

sky signal

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by bigtank, Feb 6, 2005.

  1. bigtank

    bigtank
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Messages:
    188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    belfast
    Ratings:
    +2
    hi
    I just recabled my grundig sky digital box and the signal quality and strength are now reading only 30% to 40%,before they both were 100%.
    any ideas
    I am sure the dish was not moved and I refitted two new connectors.

    thanks
     
  2. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    What cable was used for the re-wire ?
     
  3. bigtank

    bigtank
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Messages:
    188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    belfast
    Ratings:
    +2
    hi
    I am sorry i dont know what kind of cable
    it was purchased at a local electrical supplier.
    it was like coxial only it was encased in silver foil
     
  4. GGTVBD

    GGTVBD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bradford, West Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +323
    Sounds like you've used satellite cable, albeit 'average' quality RG6. That shouldn't make a noticeable difference to the signal levels though.

    Are you sure you didn't move the dish slightly? A millemetre or two can make all the difference and would explain the losses.

    A. Dork
     
  5. bigtank

    bigtank
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Messages:
    188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    belfast
    Ratings:
    +2
    hi
    there is a plastic casting around the LNB which I did fiddle with to gain access to unscrew the connector. ????
     
  6. andyAV

    andyAV
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess the plastic casting was the "rubber boot" usually used to prevent water getting into the F-connector where it joins the LNB. If you struggled with it you could have dislodged the dish though it should be more securely fixed than that.

    If the cable run is very long it could be the cable - the silver foil (actually aluminium) isn't the best shield. Is there any copper braid over the top - if not it's poor cable. The other thing to check is that you have got the foil/braid shield in contact with the outer part of the F connector body otherwise it's not earthed and won't act as the shield and ensure that the shield is not in contact with the solid core.

    Another good possibility is that you've kinked the cable somewhere by bending it too abruptly / twisted it etc. Most coax is air spaced rather than foam and can be kinked fairly easily breaking either the core or the shield making for an iffy connection.

    Andy
     
  7. bigtank

    bigtank
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Messages:
    188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    belfast
    Ratings:
    +2
    hi andy
    the cable has foil and copper braid,I will check the connectors again
    does the foil and braid both have to be in contact with outer body as I cut the foil off and have just the braid in contact

    thanks
     
  8. GGTVBD

    GGTVBD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bradford, West Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +323
    Good points - but

    1. Rubber boots haven't been used for a few years now. The F connector should have been sealed with self amalgamating tape. The plastic casing is the shell of the LNB.
    2. The cable 'bigtank' has used is adequate for the job and is used by a large number of installers.
    3. "The other thing to check is that you have got the foil/braid shield in contact with the outer part of the F connector body otherwise it's not earthed and won't act as the shield" Cobblers! :D If it's not connected - it won't work at all! :D
    4. "Another good possibility is that you've kinked the cable somewhere by bending it too abruptly / twisted it etc. Most coax is air spaced rather than foam and can be kinked fairly easily breaking either the core or the shield making for an iffy connection." - Possible - but if the centre core is broken it won't give you any signal.

    bigtank - you've moved the dish - guaranteed. As I say, only a few mil, but I bet you have.

    A. Dork
     
  9. bigtank

    bigtank
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Messages:
    188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    belfast
    Ratings:
    +2
    hi arthur
    the dish and system is one of the first sky digital systems and has been in use for quite a few years.
    how can i check it has moved and how can i fix it

    thanks
     
  10. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    He might have rotated the LNB a little.
     
  11. robwri35

    robwri35
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Grundig GDS 200/1 and i too have a satellite dish (duh!) but when i had 2 Amstrad DRX 100's (not the best due to tuner breakage) i could get about 70% Signal Quality. Now though, on my Grundig all i can get is 40%, 50% is i spend hours trying to get it bang on.

    So its either,

    a) My cable is damaged and should be replaced with a better one
    b) my Cambridge lnb has lost the plot and needs replacing
    c) My digibox has lost the will to live and isnt decoding channels properly so it needs replacing
    or
    d) i go back to ntl: (but im not THAT desperate)
     

Share This Page

Loading...