Sky + Signal Strength

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by adrian3221, Mar 25, 2004.

  1. adrian3221

    adrian3221
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    717
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +42
    Had my Amstrad box installed 2 weeks ago and last night I was fiddling about with the settings. I checked the signal strength meters and noticed that Tuner1 had a signal strength of about 80% and a siqnal quality of about 50% while tuner2 had a strength of 85% and quality 40%. What I want to know is why would the figures differ considering they are on the same dish, and are these average figures? I've had no issues with picture quality or breakup so far.
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    The Quad LNB is in fact 4 independent units in a single case so there could be differences between the outputs.
    The are two cables being used, there may be miniscule differences in the build quality along their lengths which again could introduce differences.
    Finally the SKY+ has two digital tuners and while they will be the same model and spec they will not perform identically.
    Add up all the potential differences and it's no shock to see different readings:)

    Had any heavy rain yet?
    I would be a little concerned with any reading below 50% in decent weather.
     
  3. adrian3221

    adrian3221
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    717
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +42
    Havent suffered any breakup in picture yet but Im assuming(hoping) it would take quite severe rain/snow to cause any disruption? My prat of an installer actually placed the dish on the wrong wall which means the dish is obstructed by the roof of the house next door.
     
  4. Stevey

    Stevey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    impossible with offset dishes
     
  5. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    The readings you are getting would suggest the dish is not obstructed.
     
  6. adrian3221

    adrian3221
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    717
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +42
    Offset dish? What does that mean exactly?
     
  7. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979


    An Offset dish doesn't point straight at the satellite, the LNB is offset from the center of the dish. This type of dish has always been used for SKY digital and analogue installs.
    This is a small picture of how an Offset dish works (first picture on page).

    A Prime Focus dish has the LNB smack bang in the middle and tend to be much larger than dishes used on domestic/fixed systems.
     

Share This Page

Loading...