Sky+ Sdi

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by martin99, Oct 9, 2004.

  1. martin99

    martin99
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +14
    Is it possible to add an digital output to a v2 sky+ box yet?

    thanks

    martin
     
  2. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,808
    No and it wont ever be. They use an mpeg decoder which is part of an integrated IC that has the DAC embedded in it too I believe. This means there is no access to the digital data on these units.

    Gordon
     
  3. martin99

    martin99
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +14
    thanks..


    I guess we dont know yet weather the mk3 will be modable?

    (
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    anyone tried an amstrad box yet????
     
  5. Kazuya Mishima

    Kazuya Mishima
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Ratings:
    +65
    I don't even understand the terms in this thread (sdi?) but there is an advert banner at the top right of this page which is for sky+ with sdi - check the link!

    EDIT: just noticed, the link shows a v1 sky+ box, the question in this thread was re: v2 sky+ box, I do apologise! :blush:
     
  6. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,808
    No need to worry.

    SDI is serial digital interface. It's a mod to get the digital data straight out of the sky box for processing before it is turned in to analogue by the sky box. This results in sharper image with more detail and allows video processors to do a better job (as they get better info to work with)

    Also should point out that depending how you view this site the adverts at top may not be the same as the ones you see. I have a Peter Tyson advert top right for instance....

    Gordon
     

Share This Page

Loading...