Sky+ SDI mod and RGB output...

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Laura, Jul 2, 2004.

  1. Laura

    Laura
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +24
    Looking to getting a plasma with an IScan HD soon, i'd also like to get a DVD Recorder.

    I seem to remember that only the TV scart is RGB enabled, so wouldn't be able to connect the IScan and the DVD Recorder by scart simultaneously.

    I don't really want to daisy chain the Sky+ to the DVD Recorder to the I-Scan, as it would stop me watching Sky if i was using another input to the recorder.

    If i got the Sky+ box SDI modded (i have a v1 box) would i be able to use the SDI output + RGB scart simultaneously?

    laura.
     
  2. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,087
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +172
    Yes, the has
     
  3. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,087
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +172
    Yes, but this reply has to be at least 10 characters long, so yes again.
     
  4. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,058
  5. Laura

    Laura
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +24
    Thanks Gordon, though I could have sworn i read in the manual that doing that was a no no... will dig out my manual and have a look.

    Will s-video into a DVD-R recorder be as good as RGB?
     
  6. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,058
    Interesting question and one I can;t answer as I've not done dem.....

    S-VIDEO out of SkyPlus while scart is set to RGB will work. I am quite confident. My own Box is set to RGB and I use s-video....

    Gordon
     
  7. Laura

    Laura
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +24
    Ok, thanks Gordon.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice