1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SKY+ Scart Control

Discussion in 'Sky Forum' started by headdabaw, Aug 11, 2007.

  1. headdabaw

    headdabaw Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Today I found out something that dramatically improved the quality of the picture from my Sky+ box and at first I thought that I was seeing things.

    Anyway this what I found:-

    In the Services / System setup / picture settings menu my video output was set to RGB (as recommended in other threads) but the Scart Control was set to Off. When I changed the Scart Control to On the and saved the settings and returned to the TV I thought I was seeing things and I could not believe how clear and sharp the pictures where.

    I dont know if anyone else has seen this? I could not believe the difference in quality.

    My Sky+ Box is an Amstrad DRX280
     
  2. alphaomega16

    alphaomega16 Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    10,495
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Southend on sea
    Ratings:
    +1,749
    Scart Control just means it takes priority when you turn the TV on.

    Scart Control, if you turn TV on it goes to the Scart Channel the sky is connected to.

    If you are watching say something on the normal channels and press the sky button it should go to the scart channel that sky is broadcasting to.

    Maybe you have been viewing through the normal channels and after switching to option to on it turned it to the scart input.

    Confused myself a little there but hope its understandable, hard to explain when typing hehe.
     
  3. headdabaw

    headdabaw Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Alphaomega16
    Come on I am not that :censored:stupid!!!!!!!!!

    I Knew that and thats why I have never had it turned on. It took me quite a while to get my head around this but defo makes the picture clearer.
     
  4. Tesla

    Tesla Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Messages:
    936
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Ratings:
    +32
    Some TV's cannot detect the RGB signal when Scart control is off so you would of been watching everything in composite video and you're now seeing RGB.
     
  5. simon1

    simon1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    917
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +58
    To clear things up, RGB is only enabled with scart control switched 'ON'.

    This is regardless of what make/model tv you have.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  6. Bursar

    Bursar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    2,405
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +216
    Really? Wow, will have to try that tonight then :)
     
  7. alphaomega16

    alphaomega16 Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    10,495
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Southend on sea
    Ratings:
    +1,749
    Did not know that.
     
  8. 1972PIXIE

    1972PIXIE Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    I dont have my SKY connected via Scart due the box / TV locations, I am getting SKY+ which I will be connecting via SCART so should I see a quality difference ?
     
  9. JayCee

    JayCee Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    16,713
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,480
    Yes...especially if you set the video output to RGB and connect it to an RGB enabled scart socket on your TV.
    Make sure the scart lead is connected to the socket marked TV Scart on the Sky box.
     
  10. jameswd

    jameswd Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    :clap:

    Explains alot, hopefully improved picture when i try it. :)
     
  11. rvfgod

    rvfgod Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    Does this go for Scart to RGB converter lead (scart plug one end and R-G-B rca / phone type connectors)?

    Kind regards
     
  12. davemurgatroyd2

    davemurgatroyd2 Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    7,355
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +1,075
    Yes providing it is plugged into the Sky TV output scart.
     

Share This Page