Sky router

Discussion in 'Sky Broadband' started by kelis901, Apr 6, 2012.

  1. kelis901

    kelis901
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just seen an advertising about Sky any-time plus how you can use your own router :clap: just need some clarification on this matter as i've seen other threads about t&c.
    Any help would be greatful as i would like to use my own router Netgear N600 wireless dual band router. Thanks! :thumbsup:
     
  2. jerryq7777

    jerryq7777
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    4,296
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +677
    Cheapest way is to do what i did and run an eithernet cable from your router to the sky box.
    Or if you have an old wireless router lying around use that as a bridge.
    Or pay sky for there wireless box Connect to TV on demand - Sky VOD
     
  3. SNIPIT

    SNIPIT
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Y Drenewydd
    Ratings:
    +160
    i accidently got Sky tech involved on exchange issue, they checked my line etc and did not seem to care i had my billion connectd. From what i understand from some Sky forums, they just dont offer the support of others.
     
  4. tonyrees687

    tonyrees687
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,816
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Iver Heath
    Ratings:
    +454
    Sorry for jumping the post But what do you mean by using another router as a bridge and how would you do this.
    Cheers
     
  5. Grggs9

    Grggs9
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +1
    You need to extract your username and password from your sky router, just google it. I just connected my billion bipac 7800n to sky. Put this into your preferred router settings in the Wan section and connect.
    Regards.
     
  6. jerryq7777

    jerryq7777
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    4,296
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +677
    If you have a spare router connect it up to your pc and disable DCHP and the wireless.Connect via eithernet to your main router and you can then connect other devices ie the sky hd box to the router (bridge/adaptor)
    Or you could do it wireless but ive not tried this.
    How to connect two Routers together
     

Share This Page

Loading...