1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky+ RGB on Scart to Panny PHD7 via RGB terminal board

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Eye in the sky, Nov 19, 2004.

  1. Eye in the sky

    Eye in the sky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    83
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi there,
    I will be having a Panny PHD7 soon. It will come with the RGB video terminal board TY-42TM6Z which has the RGB RCA + Audio LR connectors. I also have a Sky+ digibox.

    To connect my Sky+ digibox to my PHD7 RGB terminal board, I am thinking of using the QED AV19 Scart to 6-RCA phono cable (RGB-RCA + Composite-SYNC RCA + Audio LR-RCA). Meaning connection the QED AV19 Scart from the SKY+ digibox to the PHD7's RGB terminal board using the three RGB RCA connectors only, leaving the Composite-SYNC RCA unconnected.

    The Panny RGB terminal board requires the Sync to be on G, I guess technically its RGsB. It has only the RGB RCA (three)+ Audio LR connectors and NO composite RCA!

    My question to all is will this connection setup work? IE would I get a good/stable picture from my SKY+ on my PHD7? Most imnportantly, does the SKY+ digibox output RGB wth Sync on G???

    SKY+>RGB <--QED AV19 Scart to 6 Phono--> PHD7>RGB video terminal board
    with SYNC on G.

    Pls help.

    Cheers.
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Better off asking in the Plasma forum, the retailers who contribute and more experienced users will probably have the answers for you:)

    I personally would consider the RGB to VGA convertor from JS Tech, well respected solution and reported to give very good picture quality.



    Ah, I see you've already got the answers from the guys over in plasma:)
     
  3. Blu Ray

    Blu Ray
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Chorley, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +12
    Either that or simply use a scart terminal board. I don't understand why you are trying your method.
     
  4. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    SCART board is ok, but you can do better. And the way I look at it, if you're spending as much as you have to for a good quality screen, you're looking for the best.

    All the best,

    Dr John Sim.
     
  5. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    18,957
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +5,010
    Would have to agree with Starburst,thats the way i set mine up.
     

Share This Page

Loading...