1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky Resolution

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Leerock, Jan 11, 2005.

  1. Leerock

    Leerock
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    I heard many people complaining for picture performance of their plasmas on sky.
    I don t live in England but i have a sat receiver.
    I ve realised that between the sat channels there is different picture resolution.
    Some broadcast 480.480,
    other 5.. x 4..
    and other 7..x 5.. or even more.
    The channels with high resolution look awesome on my pio 435
    but the other with low resolution and especially Nova Greece look :censored:

    So what resolution does sky broadcast?
     
  2. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,560
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    The usual PAL standard of 720x576 pixels.

    Steve
     
  3. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    a heavily compressed PAL signal 576 lines (625i)
     
  4. Leerock

    Leerock
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is weird :confused:
    It s almost the same resolution as dvd.
    Ntsc dvd is 720x480 i think.
    Why dvd s having about the same resolution
    look much better?
    Is it because of different bitrates?
    :confused:
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    PAL is 576 line NTSC is 480 lines DVD are same RES as TV broadcasts no difference in reslotion, huge differnce in compression and video noise tho........
     
  6. Leerock

    Leerock
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do you receive Sky?
    Cable or sat?
    Dvd and tv broadcasts use the same compression format.mpeg2.I think.
    The difference is the encoding bitrate.Is this right?
    There must be a difference in quality between tv broadcasts.Right?
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    yes there is a difference Sky is from satellite, there are big quality differences but it is always a PAL signal which is 576 lines (625i)
     
  8. Leerock

    Leerock
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0

    Hmm
    As far as sky know Sky broadcasts via satellite too.
    So if people who have problems with PQ on sky
    install a sat receiver
    maybe they ll see a major improvement.
     
  9. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    what the fudge???? Without a SAT receiver you cant watch sky... AND it has to be a sky liscenced box... cant pick any old manhattan/echostar box for sky......
     
  10. Leerock

    Leerock
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0

    :oops: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
    Sorry :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
    I thought it was via cable.
    Where is my mind?(Pixies)
     
  11. simonr

    simonr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe ITV is 576v x 540h on Sky, kinda explains the crap quality
     
  12. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,700
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +607
    what the fudge!! is this thread for real?? :)
     
  13. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Sorry mate, but it's not a PAL signal. It's a 625i MPEG-2 signal. It's only PAL from the composite output from the box. Other outputs (s-video, RGB) are not PAL.
     
  14. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    the composite output and RF are PAL RGB component (y/c, YUV etc) are not PAL but there is an accepted PAL system 625i (576 lines) @ 50 Hz and MPEG is just an encoding standard....
     
  15. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,700
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +607
    S-video has a colour carrier on the chrominance.
     
  16. cashlessbond

    cashlessbond
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Epsom, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +45
    And my Guns bigger than yours Blah Blah Blah :clown:
     
  17. cashlessbond

    cashlessbond
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Epsom, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +45
    Sorry Guys but it read like you were trying to outdo each other in the knowledge stakes :)
     
  18. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,700
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +607
    :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...