SKY+ Remote Problem

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Moncs, Mar 6, 2005.

  1. Moncs

    Moncs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Having a problem with my SKY+ remote, just wondered if anyne has had a simular problem or can offer advise.

    Everything works ok apart from the volume control (inc mute), it seems to send a signal from the remote as the red light appears on the remote when pressed but not on the SKY+ box.

    The volume on the TV works fine as when we test it with the normal TV remote it is ok.

    We have only had SKY+ for a few weeks and it worked fine until a few days ago. Do I need a replacement remote?
     
  2. AGroucutt

    AGroucutt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Birmingham,UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    You have to program your remote for your particular tv it sends volume +/- and mute directly to your tv and not to your sky+ box.
     
  3. Moncs

    Moncs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1
    but the weird thing was that it has worked since install no problem, its only stopped working the past few days.
     
  4. Korum

    Korum
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,281
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Stockton-on-Tees
    Ratings:
    +704
    Hi, I've got Sky+ in 2 rooms of my house and Sky in another 2, Over the last few days 2 out of the 4 remotes (1 Sky+/1 Sky) lost their TV settings so I guess Sky have sent a new software update which sets some of the remote controls back to default settings.
     
  5. Moncs

    Moncs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1
    So, how do I go about getting the settings back, or do I have to call SKY?
     
  6. Bluevanman

    Bluevanman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Moncs, what make of TV do you have?
     
  7. GGTVBD

    GGTVBD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bradford, West Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +323
    :rotfl:

    Last week, my Sky stopped working. I got the message 'no statellite signal is being received'. I of course immediately phoned Sky to complain. After a lengthy conversation with someone called Ranjit I was passed to Jimmy in the 'technical department'. Static on the viewing card was being blamed. However, after going through their reset procedure this did not work. I ended up slamming the phone down.

    I eventually found the fault myself. It was the 6 inches of snow on the dish. After clearing the snow, all was well.

    It is my opinion that the recent heavy snowfall across the UK was caused by Sky. I have heard a rumour that they sent a software update to their statellites causing the snow bearing cloud to be pulled over to the UK from the near continent. This would of course earn Sky a lot of money from call outs to remove snow from customers dishes.

    Anyone else had this?
     
  8. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    If it was anyone else but Rupert Murdoch we were talking about, I might not believe it...... :laugh:
     
  9. Moncs

    Moncs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Old Sanyo 28"
     

Share This Page

Loading...